Home > CHRISTMAS > The Jolliest Man, A Glad Gathering

The Jolliest Man, A Glad Gathering

Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful.  ~Norman Vincent Peale

Dearest Friends!

The teapot’s at the ready offering a brew of orange spiced tea. Hmmm…I do hope that you will join me in a cuppa.  Let’s share a little of heart and hearth, shall we?

Since Christmas is the season for giving, is it any wonder that I chose to trim our mantle in the TV room in tribute to the most merry and generous gift giver of all – Santa himself?!  I thought I’d indulge in a little holiday bliss and share with you some photos of the end result.  

He who has not Christmas in his heart will never find it under a tree.  ~Roy L. Smith

As some of you may know, I will be hosting “A Christmas Tea for Lucas” on December 11th, so there are some treasured teapots in honour of the occasion among my collection of merry men.  

As promised in an earlier post, I thought I’d show you the  new addition to this legion of charming fellows. He is called a ‘Possible Dreams’ Santa. Riding in his magic sleigh, he has been christened ‘World Traveller’ and is made of something called ‘clothtique’ and is a mixture of cloth and resin. 

Aren’t these fun and festive fellows so handsome all dressed up in their holiday best?! It’s no wonder that Santa’s robes are brilliant red – it is the most glamorous colour against the white snows of December.  His cheery red robes just seem to evoke instant grins…

Do you have a treasured collection of festive fellows that conjure up childhood memories of laying awake, wide-eyed well into the wee hours of  the night before Christmas, excitedly anticipating the arrival of Santa?!  I was once convinced that I could hear the reindeer on the roof and would keep jumping out of bed and running to the window to have a look…

Our hearts grow tender with childhood memories and love of kindred, and we are better throughout the year for having, in spirit, become a child again at Christmas-time.  ~Laura Ingalls Wilder

Twinkling white lights, loops of exquisite sparkly ribbons (I tend to use those that are sheer to let the light shine through), shiny ornaments, and strings of shimmering beads evoke the magic of the Yuletide season and capture the imagination…Varying heights add interest – I use a wooden box wrapped in a taffeta runner that serves as a perch for this season’s focal Santa – the World Traveller. He travels with his map, compass and blanket on his lap while he navigates through the skies using his magical telescope.  

The gift giver in all his forms, dressed in rich ruby robes, lend lush texture to the manteltop.  

I am enjoying the mantel this evening. Its happy colour energizes the room and lends a cozy feeling throughout  – some real comfort and joy…

Wishing you a little holiday cheer and happy decorating!  Thanks so much for dropping in and I hope to see you again very soon…

Linda

I’m joining The Shabby Creek Cottage for Transformation Thursday where there is lots of inspiration!

Gifts of time and love are surely the basic ingredients of a truly merry Christmas.  ~Peg Bracken

I am joining these wonderful blog parties for the very first time 🙂

French Country Cottage for Feathered Nest Friday

A Thoughtful Place for Christmas Cheer Link Party

Sally Lee by the Sea for 24 Days of a Coastal Christmas

No Minimalist Here for Open House Linky Party

Sue Loves Cherries for Rednesday

Shabby Art Boutique for Simply Christmas Inspiration Party

Very Merry Vintage Style for Share The Love Wednesday

Tiaras and Bowties for 25 Days of Christmas

I hope you will visit there and join the holiday fun. 🙂

  1. 2011/11/29 at 5:43 am

    So beautiful, Linda!

  2. 2011/11/29 at 9:20 am

    Simply awesome…XO

  3. Tammy Fry
    2011/11/29 at 10:10 pm

    Magnificent! Merry Christmas!

  4. 2011/11/30 at 7:51 am

    Hi Linda,

    You did a marvelous job of decorating your mantel and your world traveller Santa is the perfect addition for your collection! I have never seen one like that before. Oh! And, a cuppa orange spice would be perfect-thank you!
    Hope you have a good day!

    Carolyn

  5. 2011/11/30 at 8:13 am

    Hi Linda,

    I just realized that I missed a couple of beautiful posts, so I enjoyed checking out all the beauty! Your home must be so warm and cozy with all your holiday sparkle. All the people that get to come and enjoy your Tea for Lucas are in for such a treat!

    Carolyn

  6. 2011/12/02 at 1:49 am

    Wow. So beautiful. I feel like I was walking through a winter wonderland with Santa. My sister has an amazing collection of Santas that I have always loved. Thanks for sharing. Merry Christmas.

  7. 2011/12/25 at 6:50 pm

    Your blog is beautiful. Have a wonderful Christmas! Martha

  8. bj
    2013/11/24 at 9:16 pm

    I hope I can find a great, large picture of Santa to go above my mantel. I have several pretty Santas that I will use on top of the mantel this year, due to the inspiration I got right here. 🙂

    • 2013/11/24 at 9:44 pm

      Hi, BJ!
      This is a ‘Christmas past’ post from 2011 but it is a favourite! It means alot to know that people are reading and feeling inspired! I am truly blessed. Thank you for leaving your lovely footprint! It is just starting to snow here tonight, the kind that softly floats around and down to the ground and so there is a real Christmassy feeling in the air! So pretty…Enjoy the new week ahead.
      Hugs,
      Linda at Beautiful Ideas

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment