Home > CHRISTMAS > Christmas at the End of the Hall

Christmas at the End of the Hall

Happy Holidays, Dear Friends!P1060749

Welcome!

The tea is just about ready to be poured. I’m excited that you here.  I have something special to share with you.

P1050976Firstly, many thanks to these lovely ladies for sharing my recent post “The Festive Table” at their wonderful blog parties:

– Deborah,  Green Willow Pond (What we Accomplished Wednesday)
– Deb, Lavender cottage (Cottage Style Party)
– Sherry, The Charm of Home (Home Sweet Home)
– Liz, Rose Vignettes (Fresh Cut Friday)
These are the ones that I know of, so if I missed anyone, my apologies.  I hope you will let me know if I have…
P1060713Additionally, thank you to Jeanne for re-blogging my post “Beautiful Christmas Green” on her own blog Nola Girl at Heart, as well as author Janice Wells for her huge shout-out in a local newspaper, The Telegram, last weekend. Janice published four large full-colour pics from  “Beautiful Christmas Green”  that covered nearly an entire page of the paper!  You can read her column titled, “Channeling My Christmas Martha” here.  Only one photo is shown in the on-line version of the article, whereas the print copy features four large full-colour photos from my blog.
P1060745I am thrilled that so many of you featured these latests posts!  I am truly honoured to have you visit and that you want to share “Beautiful Ideas” 🙂 So, thanks to all of you!

P1060628

Today I’m decorating the house some more, using faux greens (don’t they look like the real thing), along with some special ornaments that hold memories for my husband and me. I like to decorate all through the house at Christmastime, introducing little unexpected treasures around each corner…

I haven’t quite decided what to do yet with one particular space in our house; and at this rate, I should finish by Boxing Day! Lol This is usually where Christmas appears first in our home, oftentimes, even as early as the first of November, but this year I just can’t seem to decide on a holiday vignette at the end of the hall…The rest of the year, it’s a pretty uninteresting place but I like to bring it to life at Christmastime. Whatever I use here will help set the tone for the rest of the rooms off the hallway…

P1060699A new friend has come to join the legion of Santa’s in our home and, so, I thought he would sit here on the gateleg table. I was thrilled to discover him at Lord and Taylor on the final morning of our visit to New York City last November.  I had almost given up the hunt and had resigned myself that I would not find a ‘special man’ that called my name to bring home with me! Lol  I seem to gather a Santa or two every time I travel. And, so, our ‘Jolly ‘Gent’ collection has continued to grow over the years.

P1060697

I judiciously packaged him in bubble wrap and safely tucked him inside my carry-on luggage where he was quite content.  I toted him all the way from NYC to Washington, D.C. and on to Virginia Beach and Williamsburg, and finally back home to Newfoundland, Canada!  This Santa got around the world in a tote bag – and is no worse for it!  He is extremely breakable but I was bound and determined that he would arrive home safely.

P1060668P1060021

P1060643His tag reads:  “Uber 100 Jahre werden von unserer Familie nach alter Tradition von handgearbeitete Sammler-artikel aus Papier-mache hergestellt.”

English translation:  “For over 100 years, our family has been creating papier-mache collectibles. Traditionally handcrafted by the “Ino Schaller” family in Bavaria.”

(I have dreamed of a trip to the European Christmas markets for a very long time, since I was a young girl; maybe one day we’ll go and I’ll bring home a Santa from there in my totebag …Sigh.)

P1060645

After a full week in New York City, we travelled to Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia for the town’s Grand Illumination (you can read about it here). There are some amazing shops in the Town Square and, of course, I could not resist the temptation to pick up another Christmas tchotchke.

This figurine is by Bethany Lowe.  Just looking at it warms my heart and brings to life childhood memories of playing in the snow. Bethany was scheduled to be in the shop to sign her pieces but we missed her by a day or two, I think.

P1060725http://bethanylowe.com/

P1050947“Reindeer Games”. is hand-painted resin and the little one’s reindeer jumpsuit is softly flocked.  The figure measures about 7/12 inches at the tallest point.  I can always spot Bethany’s designs.   They have that vintage appeal that I love.

Also on this same trip, I found an awesome Santa at Macy’s in Virginia Beach, when visiting my cousin there, but I’ll save him for another day as he is deserving of a separate post…

P1050945I’m not certain just yet how Christmas at the end of the hall will look this year.  I don’t have a plan and the look has changed a couple times already. Our cat, Monza, seems to have taken a liking to the table as his new perch lately, and Santa is quite delicate, so we’ll see…Part of the fun in designing vignettes is creating as you go along and seeing the surprise result at the end, don’t you think.  I hope you enjoy the photos!

Thank you for your visit and for leaving your sweet footprint in the snow!  We are expecting a severe winter storm here beginning tomorrow and being stuck indoors will give me more time to finish decking the hall!  Happy decorating!

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Linda

Joining with bells on:  Inspiration Monday, Metamorphosis Monday, Make It Pretty Monday, Tea Time Tuesday, A Return to Loveliness, Inspire Me Tuesday, The Scoop, Friends Sharing Tea, What We Accomplished Wednesday, WoW Us Wednesday, Sandi’s Home for the HolidaysCottage Style PartyTime Travel Thursday, The Homemaking Party, Home and Garden Thursday, Christmas Countdown-Thursday Favourites, Feathered Nest FridayBe Inspired, What To Do WeekendsShow and Tell Friday, Home Sweet Home, Frugal Friday, Shabbilicious Friday, Simple and Sweet Friday Pink Saturday, Seasonal Sunday, and Open House.

P1060622P1060674 P1060672 P1060671 P1060670 P1060668 P1060667 P1060666 P1060665 P1060672 P1060696P1060747

P1060643

P1060650

P1060700

P1060651

P1060696

  1. Gail Perry
    2013/12/13 at 11:40 pm

    Already looks wonderful to me!!! You mean it’s not finished?? Looks great!

  2. 2013/12/14 at 3:56 pm

    Dear Linda,
    You Americans know how to make Christmas look magical! Your hallway looks like a fairy tale. It’s lovely!!
    Happy Sunday!
    Madelief x

  3. 2013/12/16 at 7:10 am

    Love the details! Reminds me of Christmas in Germany where we lived years ago. Like you, we love Williamsburg. Christmas is so beautiful there. Look forward to seeing what yooou do this year.
    Linda

  4. 2013/12/16 at 11:03 pm

    Hi Linda,
    I think the end of your hall looks wonderful! I love your delicate Santa and the reindeer as well as the greenery. You have a flair for decorating, my friend. Thanks for stopping by for tea and have a joyous week.
    Christmas blessings,
    Sandi

  5. Pam
    2013/12/17 at 12:21 am

    What a beautiful Santa or should I call him the Traveling Santa! Your hall table is beautifully decorated with the deer and faux greenery! I love the Bethany Lowe figurine with the sweet children playing Reindeer Games! Have a Merry Christmas!

    Pam

  6. ehickey
    2013/12/17 at 5:51 am

    Sounds terrific! Have a wonderful holiday, my friends!!

  7. 2013/12/17 at 8:40 am

    Lovely Christmas decor!! Oh, and I would love one of those tables….
    Have a great day and Happy holidays !!!!

  8. stevebethere
    2013/12/17 at 8:56 am

    Love the decor, very quaint 🙂

    Have a snowytastic week 🙂

  9. 2013/12/17 at 7:16 pm

    What beautiful Christmas decorations! Thanks for sharing at Friends Sharing Tea!

  10. 2013/12/17 at 10:22 pm

    Absolutely beautiful, such a warm and well decorated display. I love your Santa; he is so lovely. I had a cat many years ago and she often re-decorated for me. I look forward to the finished hall. The Christmas balls are a great festive add.
    Merry Christmas

  11. 2013/12/18 at 1:45 pm

    This is such a beautiful vignette. I love it. Thanks tons for linking to Inspire Me.
    Hugs, Marty

  12. 2013/12/18 at 5:52 pm

    Your entry table is decorated very nicely for the season.

  13. 2013/12/19 at 8:38 am

    Beautiful!

  14. 2013/12/20 at 1:46 pm

    I really love your decorations, Linda! Beautiful vignette!
    Thank you for sharing at my HOME for the Holidays. Have a joyous holiday!
    Christmas blessings,
    Sandi

  15. 2013/12/20 at 6:03 pm

    So glad your new Santa made it home safe! Your decorations are just beautiful! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  16. 2013/12/21 at 3:39 am

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas!
    Happy Pink Saturday 🙂 Beautiful xmas vignette! Love all the greenery 🙂
    Seasons greetings from Australia♥ ~Pernilla

  17. 2013/12/22 at 1:08 am

    Lovely!!! Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop.
    Wishing you a lovely weekend and a very Merry Christmas♥

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

