Home > CHRISTMAS > Reflections of A Romantic Christmas

Reflections of A Romantic Christmas

Dear Friends,

Happy New Year! Can you believe it’s 2015 already? Where did 2014 go! It seems the older I get, the faster it goes. Do you feel that, too? I hope you have time to stay and savour a cuppa with me and have a little tour. Many of you have already dismantled your Christmas décor and packed it away for another year.  At our house, though, the decorations will linger a little longer.  That’s probably no surprise to many of you who know how much I LOVE Christmas!

IMG_0825

The decorations went up hurriedly and very late at our place this year and, at this moment, it seems to be just a tremendous effort to take them all down. I think I have a little “after Christmas” fog setting in.  Like so many of you who enjoy your homes, particularly at Christmastime, I think the sparkle just seems to bring ours to life and makes it shine, making more cozy and inviting. The house itself seems to ‘smile’ and be happy. Magical! So, I want to enjoy just a little more…

IMG_0762

It makes me a little sad at the thought of not seeing all the festive trims again until next year. Although the year seems to pass so fast, I’m sure before we can blink an eye, it’ll be ‘that time’ again. Why don’t we just leave it up all year! Before I manage to get up the gumption for “the task” of putting it all away, I thought I would share some photos of a few sweet vignettes around the living room. I hope you don’t mind. I know it’s late.

IMG_1077

Meet ‘Queenie’. I have no clue about this carved wooden bust. I imagine it as having once been a prop in a Laura Secord candy shop. It’s probably not the case but can you see a resemblance at all? I dressed her up to the nines with a mask, some feathers, a piece of festive ribbon, a sparkly star and a sweet ornament studded with sequins . Her crown is actually a tree topper. It wouldn’t fit properly on her head at first, so I got out my handy wire cutters and snipped out the spiral piece that normally fits down over the top tree branch, and what do you know! Despite hubby’s warning that the entire crown would surely fall apart, it worked like a charm! Whoever this lady is, there is new life for her and she is having fun. I think she looks very mysterious which only adds to the question of her lineage.

IMG_1076

A little French inspiration is always welcome, n’est-ce pas!P1140119

This was ‘Queenie’ before her crowning glory and a little gold spray paint touch-up.P1140372

This Royal Doulton gal is called, “Happy Birthday 2010”. My husband gave her to me for my birthday that year.  She is a limited edition and was retired in December of that same year.

IMG_0822

“Girl reading” was found at a local antiques shop about 25 years ago.

P1140154

My husband did some research on her as I was preparing this post.  She is a chalkware figure probably cast in the 1930’s. The original was possibly created by Cristoforo Vicari, an Italian sculptor born in the 1800’s. It was after I had inserted the photo into this post that I saw her eyes for the first time!

IMG_0821

She is in great condition with only a few minor chips but that is what gives her such character.  I have loved her ever since I first saw her.  The statue is quite heavy.

IMG_0379

She has moved around the house quite a bit over the years. Another cuppa anyone?

C.S. Lewis — ‘You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.’

IMG_1088

Venetian masks are not just for Mardi Gras! Authentic Venetian masks are perched in wreaths, swags and trees around our home during the festive season.

IMG_0602
Can you spot the Venetian mask nestled in the treetop?

IMG_0376

I found this sweet ‘sisters’ photo in an antique shop in Grand Rapids, Michigan a couple of years ago.

IMG_0819

I have no idea as to the identify of these bow-topped girls. I just really loved the picture! And, don’t they look lovely for the holidays?

IMG_0380

Love the iced boughs in the trees and on the mantel…Since I couldn’t find any of the sprays anywhere this year, I bought the only garland I could find, pulled it apart and used the stems in swags and on tables for a coordinated look in the room.

IMG_0382

A little touch of glam on the table at the base of the ‘sisters’ photo, which is perched on an easel and displayed slightly above the table. I like elements with varying heights for interest.IMG_1112

There’s no need to secret pretty glassware away in a cupboard. Bring it out and celebrate it! An iced wreath sits at the base of a glass urn.

IMG_1114

Old crystal glasses are re-purposed as votive holders. Why not!

P1140675

Since I don’t often get to use my crystal glasses, I think this is a perfect new purpose for them.

P1140677

The glass urn holds some special ornaments, a small Santa and epsom salts for a snowy effect.

P1140362

Isn’t he so sweet?

P1140636I like to use mirrors as trays for glasses and also as the base for my vignettes. It ‘doubles’ the effect.
IMG_1173

Prized ornaments can also be found nesting in special glasses. This trio of ornaments would be lost on the tree, so I like to keep them separate where I can enjoy them to the fullest.

IMG_0807
Miniature framed photos of my dad who is no longer with us peek out from the tree branches every year since his passing.

IMG_0758They are photos of my dad in his youth. I like the ones with the cars. I think they are really cool. Lol
IMG_0592

Strands of chandelier glass hug the tree at the top, middle and bottom. I have these pieces for years and yeas and find new ways to use them every Christmas. I’ve even used them to decorate a wedding cake table. You can see how at The Gift of a Wedding.

IMG_0606

Glass ornaments hand crafted in Poland were purchased with gift cards from the Bombay Company that I had been given for Christmas. I was able to use them for the after Christmas sales when the ornaments were marked way down. Thank you to all!

IMG_0963

This beauty was a new after Christmas purchase this year. I pulled it out of a box tucked behind a piece of furniture in the shop and was so glad to find it.IMG_0963

I am loving the silver-gold combination this year in our living room this year.

 

IMG_0939And, of course, one can never have too many pillows!  Pillows are a wonderful to add texture to a space and make it cozy.

IMG_0958 I like that I can look at our tree and know that many of the ornaments were thoughtfully gifted by my spouse, family, friends, neighbours and co-workers!IMG_0957

Almost every ornament tells a story.IMG_0956This pretty was also an after-Christmas sale purchase.
IMG_0954

This ornament was, too! Don’t you love the lace on this baby? You can see a post about The Littlest Angels that I used here.  I sent my friend Carolyn on Prince Edward Island a pair of these sweeties a few years ago, so we have a set alike as a gesture of friendship.

IMG_0953You must have at least one bird in the tree! It’s tradition. There’s a nest in there, too…somewhere deep within the branches.
IMG_0951

The ornaments are just piled on in thick layers this year as we didn’t have a large tree in this room. I like the glass ornaments that allow the tree lights to shine through and cast a warm glow.IMG_0587Santa peeps out from a bell cloche in front of the fireplace.
IMG_0589

Some silver reindeer, a wee child and small glittery trees, too, set the scene.IMG_0761

Chicadees in the trees…The frosted snowy white bulb in the garland draped at the back is a favourite. A gorgeous wintry nod to the season…IMG_0605

More Santas and some sparkly stars that are showing signs of wear. “Never let anyone dull your sparkle!” Whoever said that had real insight.

IMG_0760

LOVE these! The little radio is similar to my husband’s radio that had belonged to his dad.

IMG_0812

A few more…

IMG_0777I so admire the people who craft these gorgeous ornaments. To tour a factory in Poland or Austria or Germany where they are so expertly made would be a dream come true! Have you ever been to such a place?

IMG_0768

IMG_0767

I found these bulbs with the ‘Three Kings’ at Michaels early in the season! I had given a box of them to my beloved mom-in-law many years ago and she cherished them. She has since passed and they have gone to someone else in the family who also treasures them, which makes me very happy, indeed. When I saw these on the store shelf this year, I wanted to have them on my own tree as a reminder of my Ethel and her faith.

IMG_0766My friend Joan hand painted this heart for me. It is precious. Did you know that I hang it on my tree every year, Joan, next to my dad’s photo?
IMG_0953

A new ornament this year! Love a peace dove in the tree…

IMG_0811

The iced boughs and glass prisms tucked into the tree here and there gives a wintry feel to the tree and is a lovely contrast with the natural pinecones.

IMG_1072Reflection of the Christmas tree lights in a large framed print that hangs over the sofa…

IMG_1075What to do when you can’t find a full-size tree? I couldn’t find a full-size tree that I liked this year (you can see last year’s tree at The Snow Tree) , so we went with two smaller trees in urns that we previously used in other rooms.  I do miss my Snow Tree and will continue my search for a full-size flocked tree for next Christmas.

IMG_0772

This is actually two smaller tabletop trees of the same size, both in footed urns, that were used previously in other rooms. Can you see the Venetian masks in the tops of each tree?

IMG_0750

The trees are in footed urns and placed at graduating heights in the room. (This window is awaiting new curtains.)

IMG_0475

One of the footed urns is set on atop a wooden crate off the floor for some added height.

IMG_0598

The second tree is placed on the top shelf of a glass and iron wine rack that I dragged inside from out our patio deck. It had been out there all summer and fall and I was planning on bringing it into the house for the winter anyway. I draped a garland over the top and down the side of the rack to the floor and then decorated it similarly to the two trees. Since I didn’t have a single big tree this year, I had plenty of ornaments to go around.IMG_0762

This vignette is at the base of the tree on top of the wine rack. I think my favourite thing this year was the silver and gold striped ribbons! I am a ribbon addict. Here are some close ups of the vignette at the base of the tree.

IMG_0759

IMG_0816

IMG_0815

IMG_0792

IMG_0597Can you see the wine bottles still in the rack below the tree?

IMG_0598

I thought I would leave the bottles in the rack. Hmmm…maybe I’ll have a small glass!IMG_0813

IMG_0965

IMG_0817

Some more favourites…IMG_0961
IMG_0959
IMG_1082 An angel sits at the base of the trees.

IMG_0433

IMG_0439

The teeny angel came from a Christmas shop in Banff many years ago when visiting my husband’s sister for an early Christmas. I always bring home a Christmas ornament or figure from my travels. Do you do that, too?IMG_0796

Some views of the fireplace mantel in the Living Room
IMG_0508

Chandelier strands and crystal prisms, gilded honecombs and natural pinecones, glittery ferns and iced boughs, illuminated mercury glass, shimmery ribbon, cedar sprays and pearly capiz shells together create a romantic scene and cast beautiful patterns on the walls.IMG_0507

IMG_0506

IMG_0505

IMG_0489

Crystal candlesticks normally reserved for tablescapes hold prized ornaments.IMG_0497

IMG_0578

IMG_0553

IMG_0564

IMG_0563

IMG_0562

I hope you enjoyed the “after-Christmas tour”, late as it was. Some would say better late than never.

IMG_1098

You can catch a wee glimpse through the living room door to the kitchen and dining nook. If you would like to see it decked out before all traces of the holidays are gone, please come back and visit before too long, that is if you can stand it and haven’t had your fill already. Lol  I won’t delay posting too long as I know it’s a bit late after all.  We are still doing some after-Christmas entertaining and so I will be sharing it with some friends over the next week.

That’s it for the living room until next year. Thank you for indulging me and for coming by and spending your precious time.  I hope you are enjoying a fabulous winter so far.

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Linda

I am thrilled to be joining  Amaze Me MondayTeatime Tuesday, A Return to Loveliness and Friends Sharing Tea, The Scoop, Tuesdays With A Twist, Tuesdays At Our HomeWordless Wednesday, Wake Up Wednesday, What’s It Wednesday, WoW Us Wednesday, Wholehearted Wednesday, Home and Garden Thursday, Share Your Cup Thursday, The Homemaking PartyThursday’s Favourite Things, Home Sweet HomeShabbilicious Friday and Simple and Sweet Fridays, Feathered Nest Friday, Pink Saturday!

  1. Bonnie Schulte
    2015/01/08 at 6:01 pm

    I can say with all honesty, I have never seen any decor for Christmas more beautiful than yours. Every ornament, crystal, Santa, pinecone, cloche, silver and gold item, all of your treasures, are amazing and put together to look like a wonderland. I don’t know if these were my items, if I ever could put them away again til next year. BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing…I enjoyed every photo!

  2. Lana
    2015/01/09 at 1:00 am

    Your decorations are stunning and so magical. Like you, I could keep Christmas up all year. I did one year because of rotator cuff surgery. I loved it all year. I put up 3 trees this year and will leave them up for another month because I spend so much time decorating I want to savor the season and invite more friends over.

  3. 2015/01/09 at 2:59 pm

    Every picture is a treasure! I am sharing this with a group of about 800 ladies. They will just love it!

  4. 2015/01/10 at 2:50 pm

    Your house looks beautiful, Linda! What a huge collection you have. I can see you love Christmas. You are right to keep the Christmas decorations in the house a little bit longer. The most important thing is that it makes you happy! Have a lovely weekend!
    Madelief x

  5. 2015/01/11 at 9:47 pm

    Dear Linda,

    What a lovely collection you have of Christmas and all manner of other lovelies. I do like that square teapot. And the 2010 Dalton doll — she is beautiful! What a marvelous birthday present!

    I still have a few things up from Christmas, but slowly gathering up the little treasures and getting ready to put them all away. I’m most loathe this year to put the tree away, as I feel a little sad to pack away her cheery lights.Thankfully, I do have other lights twinkling in other corners, so I’m not totally bereft.

    I’m wishing you a beautiful evening… and a wonderful week ahead. I’ll be still away from my blog this coming week as I wanted to spend a ‘rest’ time these couple of weeks into the new year. We’ll see you soon. (thanks so much for your lovely email too 🙂 )

    Hugs,
    Brenda
    xox

  6. 2015/01/12 at 12:49 pm

    Hi Linda,
    I love all the glitz and glam in your home! I always keep my mantel dresed until the end of January although it is not nearly as glammed up as yours. Love the teacup and teapot. Your RD figurine is simply beautiful! What a lovely birthday present! You have a lovely collection of ornaments and I smiled at each one. I so enjoyed your post and thanks for sharing with us. Have a wonderful day and Happy New Year!
    Blessings,
    Sandi

  7. Margie
    2015/01/13 at 9:40 pm

    What lovely Christmas decor. I can see why you would want to keep them out longer.

  8. 2015/01/13 at 10:35 pm

    Thank you Linda for linking this magical post to Tea Time. It’s always a pleasure to have you join me for tea. And I know I’m a day late, but Happy Birthday, my friend! I hope you had a fabulous day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  9. 2015/01/14 at 12:27 am

    Wishing you a Happy New Year! I enjoyed your posting. So glad you shared!

  10. 2015/01/14 at 6:08 am

    I can only imagine how nice it is to live there with all this amazing decor! It’s like from pages of a Home Magazine. Stunning! Dropping by from http://pixiedusk.livejournal.com/334142.html

  11. Jann Olson
    2015/01/17 at 2:56 am

    I can see why you want to let it linger a little longer. You have so many beautiful things! Each and every photo is truly breathtaking! Thanks for sharing it with SYC.
    Hugs,
    Jann

  12. 2015/01/17 at 4:23 pm

    Your decor is absolutely beautiful! I would want to keep it up all year! It just makes me smile!

  13. 2015/01/19 at 1:40 pm

    Amazing photos. I love the bust of the little girl reading the book. It is so touching. I also like the bust with the mask and the crown, sort of recalls Phantom of the Opera! xoxo

  14. Pam
    2015/01/19 at 3:49 pm

    I agree with Bonnie, it’s all so beautiful. I want to see more! I’m the sort of person who loves Christmas ~ year round. Wish I could see it all in person, it’s truly beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  15. 2015/01/20 at 11:43 am

    Beautiful vignettes, Linda. Queenie is such a charming lady. I love her crown and other adornments. xxx ~ Nancy

  16. 2015/01/21 at 10:21 pm

    Just beautiful! Thanks for linking up with Home Sweet Home!

  17. 2015/01/27 at 10:08 pm

    Like you I appreciate leaving the decorations up for a just a bit longer. I don’t put mine up till right before Christmas as always get a real tree so I it seems a shame to take them down too soon. I really loved those pictures of your dad. My own dad has similar photos of him and his brothers posing with their cars. The family car was a prized possession not so long ago and the boys always seemed to want their photo with it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment