Home > CHRISTMAS > Gingerbread Dreams

Gingerbread Dreams

IMG_0156Dear Friends,
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE  me some cedar at Christmastime alll through the house. Branches snipped from the garden and some brought home from the garden centres seem to appear here and there and everywhere throughout our home at this time of year.  Mostly what I use inside to deck the chandeliers over tables, on tables and sideboards – near wherever food is served – is from the nursery or florist, just because I want to be sure there are no little bugs dropping from the branches especially onto food tables.
IMG_0162
This is my favourite tree this year!  It’s fashioned from gingerbread stars in graduating sizes and sits on a wooden base.
IMG_0157
I also love the aromatic scent of sweet gingerbread mixed with the smell of fresh winter greens.   I thought today I would share some photos of a petite gingerbread house surrounded by bits of cedar clippings that was sitting on my sideboard (an old pine dresser repurposed) in the kitchen for a few days before I gave the house away as a gift.
IMG_0163
The teeny house was custom-built for me to spec and pinterest inspired. A lovely new friend, Jindra, who is from Czech Republic made it for me using the old-style European recipe for gingerbread made up molasses, honey and flour.  The house sits on a 7″ diameter gingerbread cookie!
 IMG_0206
 It smells soooo goood and is entirely edible but will keep for years if looked after properly…
 IMG_0157
 Isn’t it adorable how the door to the house opens?  And, the tree outside and the starburst on the tiled rooftop?  And the detail surrounding the windows!  There are so many things about this creation that I admire.

IMG_0158

Aren’t the cookies beautiful? The detail is just amazing on these tasty treats. I particularly love the gingerbread spheres.  They have tiny ribbons attached so you can hang them on the tree. Just precious!
IMG_0199
The stars are beautiful, too.
IMG_0161
And, the snowflakes!  There’s my little reindeer place marker.  He makes me smile! Lol
IMG_0159
 I used some rustic looking bird nests dusted with sparkly snow and some lace trimmed ornaments on the dresser. Somehow, they just looked ‘right’ to me alongside the gingerbread shapes.IMG_0200I nestled a teeny silver reindeer place marker inside each of the nests.
IMG_0160
 The ‘hot toddy’ mugs are waiting…Or, would you prefer some pretty pomegranate tea in nod to the season?
IMG_0155
 The ‘White Wheat’ ironstone pattern is a favourite.  I have had this jug for many years.  It has a timeless appeal.
IMG_0167
Darling doves are displayed on my mother’s cookie plate which belonged to her mother and is probably over a century old.
IMG_0231
When I last posted, I showed this dresser with a totally different look using amber glassware.  You can see it here. This is how it looked before fitted out with my vintage amber glassware…
IMG_0032
And, this is the after…
IMG_0172
 There is a beautiful decorative sparkle to the gingerbread when the light shines on it.
IMG_0202
IMG_0182
Sweet message…
IMG_0154
 The “Holly and Ivy” Portmeirion teapot was a gift to me from my husband about 10 years ago. Ivory bottlebrush trees are also a weakness of mine. Lol
IMG_0169
 I often stack cake plates to add height and interest to a tablescape. Do you do this, too?  There are so many ways you can use them.
IMG_0205
Behind the ceramic tray, I hid a teeny photo of me sitting on Santa’s lap.  It was taken 2 years ago when hubby and I visited New York City for a week plus a day.  I spotted this wonderful Santa at The Plaza Hotel.  The last time before that I had my photo taken with Santa was 50 years earlier!  Lol  It was a special moment for me – even at my age, all these years later! Lol
IMG_0152
There is something very special about the inside of this gingerbread house.  Can you guess what it is?
IMG_0197
SURPRISE!  The house has its own teeny gingerbread tree with teeny gingerbread presents underneath it! The love is definitely in the details! Jindra has such an amazing talent! XO
 IMG_0207
Hubby and I went to dinner recently hosted by our dear friends, Brendan and Marie, in their beautiful home.  It was a fabulous evening on all counts. We always look forward to our visits with them. I brought along the tiny gingerbread house as a hostess/Christmas gift. Our friends were thrilled.  I’m sure their grandchildren will be, too!  I was delighted to see the same look on my friend Marie’s face when I gave her the house. I surely must have had the same look on mine when Jindra first presented this sweet ‘work of heart’ to me!
 IMG_0256
As soon as I arrived at my friend’s home, I asked for one of her many pedestal cake plates (she used to have a tea room) and went about arranging feathery bits of cedar around the perimeter of the plate and then sprinkling icing sugar over the stems to resemble newly fallen snow.  I used glass yogourt cups to hold battery-operated votives and then filled the glasses with salt, popped a few pinecones in place on the side of the plate and voila! A beautiful presentation.
IMG_0257 The gift tag was given to me a couple of years ago.  A thoughtful friend had an entire box of them custom made for me! The same friend who gave me this beautiful china and glassware you can see here at The Festive Table! There must have been a dozen or more tags in the box and so I use them for very special gifts.
IMG_0259
When I was sprinkling confectioners’ sugar over the cedar, some of the sugar fell on my friend’s Baby Grand piano. She really liked the look of it and so she decided to leave it just as it was…
IMG_0266
My friend served dinners and tea in this room for nearly 10 years up until last year.  When she closed the tea room to spend more time with her grandchildren, she converted the dining room to a cozy sitting room.
IMG_0267
I love the old gramaphone…Can you hear Christmas music?
IMG_0268
I love how this vignette turned out.  It reminds me of a beautiful Christmas card…
IMG_0256
Since I was a little girl, I’ve dreamed of having my very own gingerbread house. I just love this petite little house so much that I asked Santa to bring me one for Christmas.  Lol  We’ll see…
 IMG_0163
I can’t wait to snap some photos of this year’s decorations on the outside of ‘the bungalow’.  I’ve plopped pineapples in most of my urns again this year.  The pineapple, after all, is the symbol of welcome so is especially appropriate during the holidays. I’m having fun with a few garden benches and birdbaths this year, too, setting up little cheerful vignettes. This is what our front door looked like last year.
P1130749
You can see more photos here at Beautiful Christmas Green.
 IMG_0099
I’m hoping for a wee sifting of fresh snow so my photos will look Christmassy.  Last year this time, we were knee-deep in snow and had been for weeks. Although I am wanting a little snow for photos, I am more than happy that we are having such great weather.  Right now, though, it looks as though we will have a green Christmas this year, so the exterior photos can wait a few days.
 P1060700
I’d like to thank Kathy at A Delightsome Life and Sherry at The Charm of Home for featuring my last post Christmas is Coming on their amazing blogs!
Thank you for stopping by, particularly at this time of year when we have so much to keep us busy with holiday preparations! I hope Santa’s good to you! Sweet wishes for a beautiful Christmas filled with peace, love, joy and a multitude of blessings…XO
Linda  
  1. 2014/12/23 at 8:55 am

    The details on the cookies are beautiful.

  2. 2014/12/23 at 9:12 am

    Items are always more beautiful when you share them. What a lovely thing to do. Merry Christmas!

  3. 2014/12/23 at 9:56 am

    Wow, such a festive display! I would love to bee smelling all the gingergread! Love the little tree inside and the star on top! Your cookies are so beautiful. Your beautiful holiday pieces are so pretty, and perfect for celebrating. Merry Christmas!

  4. 2014/12/23 at 11:34 am

    Oh my, Linda, your home is simply magical! I have always had a fondness for gingerbread houses and boys. They smell so good and bring such a lot of whimsy into one’s home this time of year. The cookies are beautiful and you have them displayed so beautifully! I enjoyed your post very much and thank you for sharing it with us at my tea party. Have a Very Merry Christmas with your family and friends!

    Christmas blessings,
    Sandi

  5. 2014/12/23 at 2:29 pm

    Your friend is really talented Linda! Those gingerbread decorations look fabulous! They are works of art.
    Your house looks absolutely enchanting! You do know how to decorate for Christmas. My house fades compared to yours 🙂 Ha, ha!!
    Wishing you and your husband a wonderful Christmas and a Happy, Healthy and Magical 2015!

    Love, Madelief x

  6. stevebethere
    2014/12/23 at 2:30 pm

    WOW! beautiful photos I will be around for a cookie shortly 🙂
    Merry Christmas make sure it’s cookietastic 🙂

  7. Barbara
    2014/12/23 at 8:17 pm

    Thank you for sharing this with us. Seeing such loveliness warms my heart! Barbara

  8. yarlette
    2014/12/23 at 8:33 pm

    Linda, I always get so excited when I see a new post from you. They are always so beautiful. A real feast for the eyes. What a wonderful gingerbread house and cookies. Wish Santa would bring some for me. Have a very Merry Christmas.

  9. 2014/12/23 at 10:13 pm

    Hi Linda,
    Your home looks lovely and I am sure it smells wonderful, too. I love the gingerbread house your friend made and the beautiful cookies.
    Looks like a green Christmas for us as well.
    I hope you and Midge have a wonderful Christmas and all the best in the New Year, too!
    Carolyn

  10. 2014/12/23 at 10:25 pm

    So old fashioned and pretty….. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  11. 2014/12/26 at 12:15 am

    My 2 favorite things are your use of fresh greenery and that darling gingerbread house! This is a wonderful posting and I am so glad you shared at Friends Sharing Tea!

  12. 2014/12/27 at 9:04 am

    Fantastic ginger bread figures!

  13. 2014/12/29 at 11:13 am

    Just beautiful! A fun tour to see all your pretty Christmas décor and of course the gingerbread house is the star!

  14. 2014/12/29 at 12:00 pm

    These are the most beautifully decorated gingerbread I’ve ever seen – you make me want to try some! I do appreciate you sharing with A Return to Loveliness,
    Kathy

  15. 2014/12/29 at 4:01 pm

    Is this even possible to make such a beautiful decorated gingerbread! Adore ♥ xoxo, Alexandra

  16. 2014/12/30 at 9:12 am

    I can just imagine how wonderful your house smells. You are a frosting artist! Way too pretty to eat.

  17. Judith @ Lavender Cottage
    2014/12/30 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving a nice comment. You were lucky to find a gal to make you the quaint gingerbread house and the cookies are expertly designed as well.
    Your home is dreamy the way you’ve decorated, layering and adding sparkle.
    Best wishes for 2015!

  18. 2014/12/30 at 9:03 pm

    That gingerbread house is a masterpiece! What an amazing gift. Jindra is clearly very talented. I really love the ginger tree though, too. So simple even I could potentially manage to put one together. Your decorations are inspired, Linda. I loved looking at all the photos. Have a wonderful new year and best wishes to you and your family.

  19. 2014/12/31 at 7:23 pm

    Oh Linda, this gingerbread house is gorgeous indeed! I’m so glad you let me know about this post. Your blog is so beautiful. Love all the photos and the ideas.

    Brenda xox

  20. 2015/01/01 at 8:05 am

    Linda, these gingerbread cookies are so intricate and adorable. Thank you for sharing them with us. I’m delighted to be featuring this post at the last round up for Christmas 2014 on Shabbilicious Friday tomorrow.

  21. 2015/01/02 at 3:27 am

    Wow! Beautiful Christmas decorations and the gingerbread pieces are works of art…amazing! Does your friend take orders? Thanks so much for sharing at AMAZE ME MONDAY…
    Blessings,
    Cindy

  22. 2016/01/09 at 6:56 pm

    Linda, your blog is s pretty.
    I am a new follower and thank you so much for visitng me x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment