Home > HOUSE DRESSINGS, INSPIRATIONS, PROJECTS > A ROOM WITH A VIEW!

A ROOM WITH A VIEW!

Bringing the outdoors in…A garden table, chairs and cushions from Pier 1; ceramic rooster, table linens and glassware from HomeSense; and an inviting teaset from Bowring all combine to breathe new life into a teeny senior’s room.

Dear Friends,

It’s freeeezzzzing outside, so come on inside and stay awhile where it’s warm and cozy! The kettle is whistling and I’m just about to brew a pot of comfort tea…

Today I thought I would share with you a video that I made of my Mom’s room when she moved into a ‘Seniors’ Home’ last May. Would you like to see it?

The room ‘BEFORE’ was institutional, bleak, impersonal and, admittedly, depressing…While Mom had decided that she would like to move into a ‘Home’, I think when she first saw her room empty (except for the standard furnishings provided and that were adopted by the former occupant), the prospect may have seemed somewhat daunting to her. I was on medical leave from my work at the time recovering from breast cancer treatments, and I felt sad about it all. But I knew in my heart that it was the best for everyone concerned. The staff at the ‘Home’ are all such beautiful, supportive people; and I knew instantly,too, that she would be given the best care possible there.

I set to work straight away dreaming about improvements I could make to the space and how to turn it into a REAL ‘home’ for Mom. The following few weeks were spent planning, choosing paint colours (I had convinced the wonderful owners of the Home to allow me to paint over the existing ‘cold stone’ shade), shopping for furniture and accessories, scheduling deliveries and pulling it all together.  Mom hadn’t seen any of the things I had purchased for her new room (her own furniture was way too oversized to fit); and although she knew that I was working on the space, she never saw it until it was entirely finished. When she walked into the room for the first time, it was a total surprise to her!  My mom loved the transformation, as did the owners of the Home – a relief on both counts. The ‘AFTER’ was warm, inviting, personal, charming and uplifting!

My 83-year old mom sees her room for the first time! Her new friends from ‘The Home’, Ruby and Laura, can’t wait to see the transformation either!

The paint colours are Martha Stewart’s muslin and sugar white. I kept the backdrop neutral to accommodate the cheery mix of pattern, hues and textures that were introduced into the room. The industrial-style blinds were camouflauged, layering gold silk panels (Pier 1) over floral-embroidered ivory sheers (Madison Mackenzie) hung on a brass rod with glass finials (Wal-mart) that extended well beyond the window molding giving the illusion of a larger space.

I had trouble finding a table small enough to fit in the room. Given it functions as a TV room, study, dinette, parlour and bedroom, it is, indeed, a tiny ‘multi-tasker’ of a space! Fitting numerous, much-needed furnishings in the room while maximizing storage and ensuring safety and ease of movement posed a real challenge.

At Pier 1, I discovered a creamy-white wrought iron patio table with a glass top (it accommodates  a ‘sunbrella’). It just happened to be the perfect size, and the clear glass gives the illusion as though it ‘floats’ in the room. A solid table would have crowded the room, lending a much heavier feeling. I don’t think the space would have been ‘up for it’.  And, I was going for an airy, refreshing look so I decided to bring a little outdoors in. I purchased it along with a pair of coordinating chairs with pretty fanned backs (they provide interest) along with some outdoor, easy-care cushions for beauty, comfort and practicality! Additionally, the wooden tri-fold screen strategically positioned in the corner behind the settee (it warms the wall), petite ivory striped chest with crystal knobs near the closet, and brown wicker foot rest with red silk tufted pillow at the foot of the bed all came from Pier 1.

A bargain mirror at HomeSense for just $34 helps to create the illusion of additional space. A second mirror in a varying shape but coordinating frame (behind the dresser on the opposite side of the room)  was a find from Cohens at just $54!

A glorious ceramic rooster (HomeSense) sits atop the table.  His base fits nicely over where the umbrella is normally inserted in the table.  My mom dearly loves the rooster and laments often that it doesn’t cocka-doodle-doo! Pity! Although, I don’t think her ‘Home mates’ in neighbouring rooms would appreciate a rooster crowing at the crack of dawn!

The pretty blue transferware plates that hang on the wall came from my own cupboard!  The wall sconce was a purchase from Bombay Company (the candle inside the hurricane is battery-operated). The beautiful yellow-and-red ceramic lamp with silk shade, petite black-and-floral camel-back settee (my favourite piece) and gold armchair are from Hayward Interiors, a favourite design store. The custom headboard (it had to fit below the thermostat and fan control on the wall) was constructed from fabric found in the bargain bin at a local upholstery shop.  The cheery rooster bed linens were ordered on-line from Garnet Hill, and the buttery matelasse bedspread and sham were also ordered on-line from J.C. Penney.

The larger dresser with a stencilled pattern was a real find, just $295 from HomeSense! It is charming and lends less-bedroom and more-dining-room feel, and doubles as a TV/lamp stand.  The pair of smaller crystal lamps, coordinating mirrors, framed prints and floor rugs, were good buys at Winners.  The rugs really warmed up the hardwood floors and seemed to complete the room,  making it snug and appealing.

The scrolly iron plant stand (Winner’s) hosts a fountain with a lifelike frog (Alderberry Blum). Water bubbles up through a bamboo shoot; the sound is soothing. Realistic silken flowers and leafy ferns surround it and contribute a breath of spring to the room.  The framed prints of birds, butterflies, and dragon flies, as well as the colourful florals on the settee, and winged faeries that alight around the room in unexpected places all help to carry the enchanting garden inspired theme.

When I first toured the ‘Seniors’ Home’, I immediately noted  the doors that opened into most rooms, first revealed the person’s bed. I purposely arranged the furniture in Mom’s room so that the bed is the last thing to be seen.  Rather, a beautiful patterned rug, the pleasant music of a water fountain, life-like gorgeous blooms and an illuminated garden lamp with a tin shade (O’Neill’s Gardenland) reflected in a large mirror, that seemingly expands the space, greet visitors upon first entering the room. A marvelous chair and brightly coloured divan (I love how the yellow, melon, red, and lilac floral pattern wakes up the black fabric)  accented with a wooden screen draped with ferns beckons in the background.

I wanted the space to feel less like a hospital room, or a bedroom, and more like ‘home’ where family and friends are comfortable. I easily change up the accessories just a bit with the celebrations of the seasons, and that keeps it fun and interesting for Mom and her friends at the ‘Home’.

And, well, let’s just say that since the room has taken on a new personality  (thank you to Judy and Lolly at the ‘Home’ for letting my family do this for our Mom), our outlook has changed regarding what it means to live in a Seniors’ Home.

I tried my darndest to keep the room bright, light and joyous, a space where Mom would be content and love coming ‘home’ to.  I want her to feel good about her room and look forward to it whenever she opens the door to it. And, when family visit, I want them to feel encouraged to stay longer and enjoy their visit with her. With a little imagination, Mom’s room is now an inviting, cheery space that offers a sense of relaxing comfort and hospitality that says, “Welcome Home!”

Click here for the video of Mom’s Room With A View

Thanks so much for stopping by today.  I love seeing you! And, I’d love to hear your ideas about decorating a small space for a senior…Join in the conversation!

Wishing you a beautiful day every day,

Linda

Beautiful young people are accidents of nature, But beautiful old people are works of art.
~Eleanor Roosevelt

More photos…I’ll be adding some over the next day or two, so be sure to come back!

Before…

My 83-year old mom looks out the window of her new room at ‘The Home’

My hubby helps me to measure the room…

After…

Today, I am delighted to be joining Masterpiece Monday, Make the Scene MondayMetamorphosis Monday, Meet Me Monday, Show Off Your Cottage Monday, Market Yourself Monday, Do It YA Self MondayYour Cozy Home PartyTea Time Tuesday, Knick of Time TuesdayWOW Us WednesdayWhat’s It Wednesday, Southern Lovely for Show and Share, Home and Garden Thursday , Home and Garden Thursday, Open House, Thrifty Thursday, Time Travel Thursday, Feathered Nest Friday, Inspiration Friday, Vintage Inspiration Friday, Thrifty Things Friday, Furniture Feature Friday, Potpourri Friday, Fridays Unfolded, Saturday Splendour, Home Sweet Home, Once Upon A Weekend,  Show Me Extraordinary, Seasonal Sundays, The More The Merrier, Creative Bloggers Hop PartyFriends Sharing Tea and Healthy Wealthy Moms Blog Hop!

  1. 2012/02/22 at 1:32 am

    Absolutely charming! The furniture is gorgeous and the arrangement perfect. Your Mom should be very cozy there. I know how important it is that they feel at home. I went through this with my Mom and she grew to love her retirement apartment. My Mom has been gone a few years, but I can still see her in her cozy little appartment in my memory. Enjoy your Mom while you can. Thanks for sharing,
    Carla

    • 2012/02/22 at 1:45 am

      Hi Carla,
      It’s so nice to hear from you! I appreciate you kind thoughts. Thanks so much for following!
      Linda 🙂

  2. Eric
    2012/02/22 at 6:20 am

    Linda, what a glorious space! Imagine what would be created if all our seniors could live out their final years in a space like that. I just knew that it would be spectacular as I scrolled down through those images. Photographs rarely capture the energy and essence of a space, however, yours always seem to magically do that. That is your gift, Linda, in not creating such beautiful spaces, but in finding a way to effectively share that with others. Thank you for sharing that with us today.

  3. 2012/02/22 at 7:05 am

    This truly IS a beautiful blog! Your post about your mother and her home is wonderful. It reminds me of my dear, sweet aunt who moved into an independent living facility. Her daughters and son transformed it into a gorgeous “nest” for her. This inspires me to blog about her. So glad I found you from “Wow Us Wednesday!” Have a great day.

    I can’t figure out how to follow your blog. Hope I don’t lose you because I want to come back here and see your other creations.

    Karen
    Ladybug Creek

    • 2012/02/22 at 7:15 am

      Hi Karen,
      That is so nice of you to say those things. I am thrilled that you like my little blog!
      You can sign up to follow in the sidebar. Just above my contact info (where there’s a photo of a teacup wreath), it reads,”Get More Beautiful Ideas. Sign Up To Follow”. I hope you are able to find it. If not, let me know.
      My blog has a static/welcome page. Most blogs show the current posting as soon as you enter the site. My current posting is listed in the sidebar with the most recent post at the top. I hope this is not too confusing for readers.
      I hope your day is lovely! And, thank you again for visiting!
      Linda 🙂

  4. 2012/02/22 at 8:13 am

    Linda! As always…inspiring, incredible and imaginative!!! What an incredible gift you have given your Mom. I can only imagine how happy her heart is for this amazing space you’ve created for her. Thank you for sharing!

  5. joan shirley
    2012/02/22 at 10:15 am

    Inside your mind must be a beautiful place to be, Linda! Your Mom is very lucky to have such a caring, giving, and talented daughter as you. I raise my cuppa to you and your Mom…Cheers!

  6. 2012/02/22 at 11:03 am

    Hi Linda,
    What a blessing you are to your mom! Her room looks fabulous and I’m sure she will be quite comfortable in her new “home.” You have breathed new life into it and made it cozy and welcoming for all. The Home should hire you to do all the rooms over! Thank you for sharing the makeover with us. Hope you have a lovely day.
    Blessings,
    Sandi

  7. 2012/02/22 at 1:09 pm

    Hi Linda,
    You created such a beautiful, cheery and homey room for your Mom. I am sure your Mom and all her visitors enjoy it so much. I have enjoyed watching the video of the room, too, since you sent it to me. You do have a gift!!!
    Take care,
    Carolyn

  8. Pam
    2012/02/22 at 5:14 pm

    Oh! So Beautiful! You have created a luxurious Bed-and-Breakfast space. The sweet smile on your Mother’s face speaks volumes. I especially love the table and chairs with the lovely tea set. Happy Tea Party!
    Pam

  9. Tammy Fry
    2012/02/22 at 5:33 pm

    Linda, you did an amazing job with your Mom’s room at her new home! I love, love, love it!

  10. 2012/02/22 at 6:10 pm

    You are AMAZING. When can you come visit me in Lewin’s Cove (near Burin)? I need HELP!
    Flo/ Cancer Warrior
    http://www.perksofcancer.com

  11. Helena
    2012/02/22 at 10:24 pm

    I love it. It looks wonderful.

  12. 2012/02/23 at 12:26 am

    That looks wonderful! There should be a book about decorating senior housing/rooms. Your mother is so fortunate to have you able to do such a wonderful thing for her (and all the people that come to visit her!).

  13. Joanne G
    2012/02/23 at 8:36 am

    Excellent job, Linda. You are one of a kind. I have to say it was not a surprise to me that the room would turn out beautifully. Only you can pull off something as wonderful as this. Take care.

  14. 2012/02/23 at 11:13 am

    Linda,
    You did an incredible job with your mother’s room. I love all the touches – so very inviting! I am sure your mother is loving it! She’ll probably have a lot of visitors! Thank you for sharing with A Return to Loveliness.
    God Bless,
    Kathy

  15. 2012/02/23 at 5:20 pm

    Beautiful job! While my mom is still in her house, I can see the day when I will have to look at this option for her. A room like this would certainly make her feel like she was at home. Your mom is lucky that you were able to do this for her (the facility where she is let you do this for her).

  16. 2012/02/23 at 10:18 pm

    You have done an incredible job with your mother’s room. It is absolutely stunning and so welcoming. I have never seen a senior’s room done so beautifully. Truly lovely!

  17. 2012/02/24 at 12:50 am

    You did an absolutely fabulous job! The colors are so warm and cozy. I love the the table and chairs set!!

    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Aledia.

  18. Joy
    2012/02/24 at 4:49 pm

    Love the decor, looks like a very nice place and I hope she enjoys it. I really like that little fairy and the rooster, too.

  19. 2012/02/25 at 1:21 am

    What a lovely room. You did a great job. I love the rooster decor, especially the pillow cases and that floral chair! I love it. Thanks for sharing.

  20. 2012/02/26 at 1:46 am

    This is just wonderful! You have created the most charming and welcoming space. It is a joy to see. Your Mother must be estatic…and so lucky to have such a loving, caring daughter.

  21. Debra Ruffing
    2012/02/26 at 1:50 am

    Thank you for sharing this with us. I have never had to do this for my parents. My Mama was murdered in a hospital by the wrong blood transfusion – very traumatic, and my Daddy just went to sleep a few months ago and did not wake up. My husband lived with him and he is very sad and misses him. Daddy would not let us change anything after Mama died – I had to sneak things in… : ) He was not fooled but as long as I did not make a deal of it, I could keep up with the house. Now it is gorgeous and he can’t enjoy it. My parents are now in Heaven together again. I know their home there must be this beautiful!

    I hope you don’t mind, but I would like to use your photos and ideas to work on my home. My husband is dying of leukemia, and the house flooded and we lost everything. I want to have a home again. Right now it is just downright ugly. So much is needed.

    Again, thank you so much for helping your Mama and making this beautiful home available to everyone to see and gain inspiration from. You should have a career making senior homes beautiful! You have tremendous talent.

    Debra Ruffing
    djruffing@comcast.net

  22. 2012/02/26 at 10:49 pm

    You did an incredible job of making a room into a home for your Mother. It’s beautiful! Thank you for sharing your creativity at Potpourri Friday!

  23. 2012/02/26 at 11:08 pm

    Transformation is just amazing and beautiful! What a wonderful daughter you are. This is very inspirational in many ways. I know your mother is so proud and the room exudes happiness. May God bless you and your mother.

  24. Sharon Learning (Yvonne Wall's sister)
    2012/02/27 at 9:34 pm

    What a beautiful job!!! You are really gifted. Really glad that you included my mom, Laura, and her friend Ruby in one of the photo shoots. It is so nice to make things beautiful for the person we call “Mom”!!!

    • 2012/02/27 at 10:55 pm

      Sharon, it is so great to ‘meet’ you! Your sister Yvonne is an angel on earth and a gift to this world and our family! We feel so fortunate that she is caring for my mom. I don’t think I would sleep at night if it were not for Yvonne and all the loving people who work there. Peace of mind means the world! 🙂

      My mom absolutely loves her new home. She called me after the first two nights she spent there and said, “I just love it! It’s the best thing that has ever happened!” Nearly a year later, she still feels this way, which is a blessing.

      Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to spend some time and visiting my little corner of blogland and for leaving such a beautiful comment.

      Hugs,
      Linda

  25. 2012/02/27 at 9:34 pm

    Your Mom’s room should be a “Model Room” for the Senior Adult Home! It is gorgeous and homey! Wonderful transformation! 🙂

  26. Yvonne Wall
    2012/02/27 at 11:48 pm

    Hi Linda,
    When you were doing up your Mom’s room at the home and we saw it for the first time, it was like out of a magazine and it took my breath away. I said to the staff that you have to go and see the room…You are very gifted and a very special person. I am so glad that my Mom got to know your Mom. Your Mom is a special lady and I am very proud to know her and care for her at the home, also I got to meet you.
    Hugs,
    Yvonne

  27. 2012/02/28 at 5:18 am

    How sweet! It warms my heart!

  28. 2012/02/29 at 11:19 am

    This is soooo impressive and a wonderful idea. What a difference. Wonderful to have you at Seasonal Sundays.

    – The Tablescaper

  29. 2012/02/29 at 9:08 pm

    You’ve created such a lovely space for your mom, Linda! I know she must be thrilled to open that door and see a place that feels like home. Bravo!
    Thanks for linking to Time Travel Thursday. I hope you’ll join the fun each week. Be sure to stop by tonight, and see yourself featured.

    Blessings,
    Liz @ The Brambleberry Cottage

  30. 2012/03/01 at 2:33 am

    I love this post. It’s a wonderful thing what you did for your mom, and I know it lifted her spirits to have a room that actually looks like a real room. Her visitors must love it, too. It is a shame that nursing homes do not try to make the rooms more attractive for all the people who live there. No wonder people living in nursing homes feel depressed so often. Anyone living in a hospital-like setting day in and day out would.

    Currently, my grandmother is in a nursing home for short-term care for a few months while she recovers from a broken hip. Our family has found the nursing home a sad place to visit, even though we know she’s not going to be there forever. I’m sure a pretty room would lift their spirits, too. I bet that you have inspired a lot of people with family members in facilities like this to spruce their rooms up.

    Thanks so much for stopping by the Your Cozy Home Party to include this pretty and informative post!

  31. Connie
    2012/03/01 at 3:53 pm

    All mothers would love to have a daughter like you. What a special cozy nest you have created for your loved one. It’s simply beautiful.

    I help with a ministry at a local nursing home each week. It can be such a bleak place but we gather in the dining hall, serve refreshments, give a devotional, and sing and pray together. They (the residents) are so appreciative and you quickly become attached to special friends. Sometimes, they are not there the next week and you’re glad for any pleasure that you may have brought their way.

  32. 2012/03/03 at 12:48 pm

    Just stopping by again to let you know I enjoyed your post so much it was one of my Saturday Picks. Congrats on your feature, and thanks for giving everyone inspiration for making a loved one’s life happier. I have a featured button if you’d like to grab it for a featured page or your sidebar. Have a great weekend, and I do hope you will consider joining us at next week’s party.

  33. Patricia Kelly
    2012/03/03 at 7:44 pm

    Linda,

    Not only is this gift to your mom so awesomely beautiful but it tells me about the loving and caring person you are, Linda. I’m sure your mom must be so proud of you. It takes a truly wonderful lady with love in her heart and a special talent to do this, and I’m truly amazed that you went above and beyond to decorate the previous plain room so beautifully, lovingly, and with such special care for your mom to enjoy with family and friends. What you did to transform this room for your mom touches me and I’m sure many others. Thanks for posting, Linda.

  34. 2012/03/04 at 5:26 pm

    Hi,
    I am so moved by what you did for your Mom; and your beautiful decor. I noticed your Mom’s good posture in the “after” picture. Now that says a lot. Blessings to you both.
    Monah

  35. Erika
    2012/03/05 at 9:14 pm

    Very beautiful. More people should bless family members this way when they go into a “Home” or pay you to go decorate for them. 😉 what a sweet precious blessing. Found you on Susans blog. bnotp.

  36. 2012/03/08 at 3:03 pm

    I just left my comments over at your video spot. But Linda, this is too wonderful not to comment again here. Your inspiration to create this space into such a beautiful place for your mom is too heavenly for words.

    I said it before, I say it again, you need to share your inspiration with others who might not realize they CAN make those institutional places more like beautiful and homelike. It might make it easier for everyone concerned when it comes to those times in our lives.

    I just love it……………… best to you and your mom……….

  37. 2012/03/11 at 6:42 pm

    Hey Linda,
    I collect unique teapots, too! My dad got me started before he died of cancer 10 years ago. I love what you’ve done with your site – it’s warm, cozy, and inviting! Keep up the good work.

  38. 2012/05/08 at 11:29 pm

    Beautiful! I cried the whole time. I was reminded of what my sister and I did for our dear Mother when she decided she could no longer live alone on the family farm. We did our best to make her room much like her home. She passed away in June, 2005. I truly miss her. What you did for your Mother is beyond amazing! Enjoy every moment with her! Happy Mother’s Day to you and your Mom.

  39. 2013/04/15 at 8:10 am

    That is so amazing Linda! I’m sure it cheers up your mom, her friends, and the staff at the facility too. Love the rooster sheets 🙂 Bravo!

  40. Adriana
    2015/08/19 at 12:21 am

    Greetings from Victoria BC. My mother is going to be going into an assisted living soon, and I am so inspired by how home-like you have made the seniors residence room. Thanks!

    • 2015/08/19 at 6:35 am

      Thanks, Adriana! I’m so glad to hear that. I hope your dear mom grows to love her new home as my mom has.

  41. Karen
    2015/10/04 at 1:06 pm

    Beautiful space. It’s awesome thank you for sharing. I needed inspiration. You gave it!

  42. Linda Cook
    2017/03/23 at 4:03 pm

    Hi Linda,
    My Dad just moved into a Nursing Home room and I was so pleased to have found your bright and cozy decorations and furnishings you used for your mother’s care home. I was wondering if you would mind if I pinned your article and pictures on Pinterest to inspire others to realize how some scaled down furnishings and homey touches can make a small care room look and feel like home? I am going to use some of your ideas to inspire me in decorating my dad’s room.

    • 2017/03/23 at 4:07 pm

      Hi, Linda!
      Thanks for your note! I’m delighted that my post could inspire you.
      I haven’t posted in over a year – life has been pretty busy! I can’t wait to get back at it soon, though.
      Please be sure to let me know your Pinterest board so I can follow along.
      I hope your dad is content in his new place. Happy Spring to you and your family!
      Linda

      BTW, Nancy over at Living Large In Small Spaces shared a post I wrote, too. It has more photos. Here’s the link in case you haven’t seen it already:
      https://beautifulideas.wordpress.com/2015/03/14/guest-blogger-at-living-large-in-small-spaces/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

