Home > INSPIRATIONS, JARDINS, PROJECTS > “Room to Bloom!” Guest Blogger at “Living Large in Small Spaces”

“Room to Bloom!” Guest Blogger at “Living Large in Small Spaces”

IMG_9718

Dear Friends,

Today, I am excited to be guest blogging over at Nancy Reinke’s “A Joyful Cottage”.  Do you know Nancy, particularly her “Living Large In Small Spaces” series?  It is really fantastic and so many fresh ideas await.

Nancy happened upon my post that I shared a few years ago about my mom’s tiny room at a personal care facility and thought her readers might be inspired by it.  I transformed my mom’s room there from an uninviting, lifeless space into a cozy, inspirational cocoon that she immediately loved the moment she opened the door unto it.  Elderly people, after all, enjoy beautiful surroundings the same as anyone else does. So, I hope you will join us over at Nancy’s blog, particularly if you have a special senior in your life.  Even if you don’t, I’m sure you’ll find lots more at A Joyful Cottage to set your thoughts going. You just might want to put the kettle on and settle in for a bit!

I am so honoured that Nancy asked me to share on her gorgeous blog today. I’ve never been a guest blogger before – ever- and I am very excited!  I hope you will drop by A Joyful Cottage for “Room to Bloom!” and say, “Hello” to Nancy.  See you there!

I would also like to thank the lovely Kathy, author of the blog “A Delightome Life” who kindly featured my last post, Kitchen Leftovers that Sparkle, at her a A Return To Loveliness party, and also to sweet  Sherry at “The Charm of Home” for featuring the same post at Home Sweet Home. You are so very kind ladies, especially since I was so late sharing those holiday images! Lol.

Thanks for stopping by. Wishing you a Happy St. Patrick’s Day! EnJOY!

Linda

I’m partying at Make It Pretty MondayAmaze Me Monday, Much Ado About Monday, Creative Mondays,  Inspiration Monday, Teatime Tuesday, Teacup Tuesday, Friends Sharing TeaTweak It Tuesday, A Return to Loveliness, The Scoop, Inspire Me Tuesday, Wake Up Wednesday, What We Accomplished Wednesday, The (not just) Homemaking partyWordless Wednesday, Share Your Cup Thursday, Home and Garden Thursday, What To Do Weekends, Show and Tell, Feathered Nest Friday, Simple and Sweet Fridays, Home Sweet Home.

  1. Pondside
    2015/03/14 at 2:00 pm

    I’m going right over to read your guest post!

  2. Kathy
    2015/03/14 at 2:16 pm

    LOVE!!!

  3. Nancy
    2015/03/14 at 11:34 pm

    Linda, thank you for accepting my invitation to come to A Joyful Cottage and share your inspiring story and photos of your mom’s fabulous living space. I’m so glad we met through this wonderful Land of Blogs! Hugs, Nancy

  4. 2015/03/15 at 2:33 pm

    What a beautiful room you made up for your mom. I had to do a double take when you said it was at a personal care facility. This looks so cozy. Fantastic job!

  5. 2015/03/16 at 4:54 pm

    Congratulations sweet friend! The room you made for your mum looks beautiful. Cheerful and cosy!

    Have a lovely week!

    Madelief x

  6. 2015/03/16 at 10:27 pm

    I remember that post about your mothers room, Linda. I thought the room charming and cozy and certain that your mother is enjoying it. The tea set makes it all the more inviting. I wish I could do something similar for mine but she shares a room with another resident and there is barely enough room to turn around in. Congratulations on being Nancys guest and thank you for joining me for tea. Happy St Patricks Day!

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  7. Pam
    2015/03/17 at 12:15 am

    I remember when you posted this lovely makeover for your Mother! Many great ideas! Have a beautiful week!

    Pam

  8. 2015/03/17 at 12:47 am

    Your post is so very welcoming and lovely,

  9. 2015/03/17 at 12:07 pm

    I think you did a wonderful job with your Mom’s room. I see the little tea items there also on the table! Darling! I hope she is very happy there.

  10. 2015/03/17 at 12:12 pm

    Wonderful! Us old folks are people, too! 😀

  11. 2015/03/17 at 9:34 pm

    That is a great idea… places like that can be so sterile. 🙂

  12. 2015/03/17 at 11:15 pm

    I hopped over to her post. Amazing. She did such a beautiful job on her moms room. It even gave me some fabulous ideas for my little apartment!

  13. 2015/03/18 at 12:28 pm

    What a wonderful way to help your mother transition. The room is beautiful! Thank you for sharing it at What We Accomplished Wednesdays. Have a great week!
    Blessings, Deborah

  14. Jann Olson
    2015/03/22 at 1:12 am

    Linda, I am well acquainted with Nancy and adore her! I will hop over and read the post. Sound so wonderful that you did that for your sweet mother! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  15. 2015/03/25 at 9:24 pm

    Beautiful cheerful room Linda! Thanks for joining HSH!
    Sherry

  16. 2015/08/31 at 3:07 am

    Linda, the first time I read your story about your mom’s room transformation, I was smitten.

    I’ve never forgotten how beautiful you made her room. You must have had soooo much fun in preparing this surprise for her.

    My own mom is 80 this year and lives in her own condo and is still quite well enough. But I wanted to show her this post as I think she does wonder too about if she’d ever have to move what that would feel like. I wanted to assure her we’d make her room as cozy as we could with her pretty things around her too.

    I sent the link to your post here to her… I just had to tell you that I was enchanted all over again. You’ve inspired me… and I hope your story will influence many families to ensure their parents’ or grandparents can still live in a beautiful space even if it is tiny and ‘clinical’.

    Sending hugs to you, Linda!!
    Brenda
    xox

    • 2015/11/04 at 6:19 am

      Hi Brenda!
      Thanks so much for your kind words! This does my heart good to know. I’m so glad that sharing this story has brought hope and inspiration. I’ve been away from blogland for some time and am looking forward to returning. Take the best of care and I’ll be visiting with you again soon! XOXO
      Linda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

