Home > CHRISTMAS > Christmas is coming!

Christmas is coming!

IMG_0087Welcome, Friends!

You’re just in time for a cuppa tea!  I think you’ll agree that there is perhaps no other time of year as highly anticipated as the Christmas season. Like many of you,  I have begun making holiday plans and to get our home ready for Christmas.  I like to start early so I have plenty of time to enjoy the house in all its sparkle and glamour for as long as possible.  I think this is when the house looks its best.  I thought I would decorate first and clean after because I expect there will be glitter from one end of the house to the other by the time everything is finished!

IMG_0031

For a change, this year, I started in the kitchen with an old dresser repurposed as a sideboard.  (I normally start “Christmas at the End of the Hall” but change is good. A tin-framed mirror hangs above the dresser. I thought it would look nice with a generous pine and cedar wreath layered over it and then added a few glittery sprigs and delicate ornaments. The wreath looks very real.  What do you think?

IMG_0032

And, I began playing with a new camera that my husband bought for me! These images are of a few little nooks and crannies in our kitchen and are the very first photos I took using it.  I am really liking the way they turned out for a first try and I feel like a grown-up, finally! Lol  Now, I’ll have to look into that photography course that I’ve been wanting to do.  Maybe Santa will drop a gift certificate in my Christmas stocking…Hint.

IMG_0049

IMG_0034

IMG_0042

I’ve shared photos of my amber glassware before, but I thought you might enjoy seeing it again since these images are more detailed.  This pretty jug and juice glasses have been used to serve family and friends on many happy occasions throughout the years.  I remember finding it in an antiques barn by the side of the road when my husband and I were vacationing in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. That was when we were first married and so many years ago that I’ve lost count.  Where does the time go?

IMG_0046

I love the daisy pattern and swirls.  It looks rather ‘snowy’, don’t you think.

IMG_0047

The sweet miniature reindeer is actually a place card holder. You can see the little slit in his back that holds the card.

IMG_0043

The carnival glass jug is a special treasure and quite old. It belonged to my great-grandmother.

IMG_0035

My prized egg nog bowl, circa 1950’s, has served up many holiday drinks topped with peaks of delicious whipped cream! I can’t wait for egg nog!

IMG_0045

The pedestal crystal plate that the bowl sits on belonged to my father’s mother.

IMG_0044

Aren’t the eggnog cups cute?  They fit nicely in the palm of your hand and the eggnog tastes even yummier in such a pretty cup!

IMG_0043

Sometimes I find unexpected places for precious ornaments.  You never know where you’ll find one around here!

IMG_0033

I like to tuck in family photos amongst the Christmas decorations here and there throughout the house.

IMG_0036

This photo is of my mom when she was in her twenties.  My mother lives in a seniors’ residence now.  You’re welcome to have a peek at her room that I decorated for her here: “A Room With A View!”

IMG_0038

I like to mix gold and silver when decorating for the holidays to allow more possibilities, rather than using all of one or the other.  These glasses with the bubble pattern are used for champagne.

IMG_0073

I love mixing in natural pinecones in our holiday decor.

IMG_0072

A few special ornaments are displayed on the stacked cake plates in the centre of the kitchen table.

IMG_0077

All the greenery is artificial but the natural pinecones help it to look fresh! With the addition of the pinecones, sometimes its very hard to tell whether the greens are natural or not.

IMG_0070

I don’t use all of our ornaments for the trees.  Here are some ornaments atop the Lazy Susan.  Others can be found in bowls, peeping out of stockings, dresser drawers, hanging from mirrors, on cake plates, under cloches…just about anywhere you can think of that could use a little surprise of glamour!  These green sprigs are faux, too!

IMG_0083

I like using cookies in the same way – in places where you’d least expect to find them!  These sugar cookies in the shape of snowflakes are part of the centerpiece for the table.  My friend Maria made them for me last year and I froze them so I could re-use them this year. When they are fresh, they are delicious.  I save these, though, purely for decoration and are not to be eaten!

IMG_0077

IMG_0081

Aren’t they adorable!

IMG_0080 They are such a sweet touch!

IMG_0078

I am in love with these little reindeer place card holders!

IMG_0055

Pedestal plates can be used for much more than pretty desserts!

IMG_0053

The caribou look more like “cow-a-boo!”

IMG_0051

This is one of my favourite things! Gingerbread under a cloche!

IMG_0052

Last year, I hung these same cookies from an evergreen garland over the kitchen sink. Can you see the ‘straw holes’ where the ribbons were slipped through.  Gingerbread keeps well.

IMG_0062 Angels are a must throughout the house.  Don’t you love the ethereal look?

IMG_0063

I nestled a sprig of faux greenery and a teeny bird in her between her hands.

IMG_0066
I hope you have fun dreaming of your Christmas plans…I’d love to hear about them!

SECOND ANNUAL “CHRISTMAS WREATHS FOR THE CURE!”

For those of you who live in our area, please remember to get your holiday wreaths from The Wreath Maker as part of a fundraiser for breast cancer research and community programs. The Wreath Maker’s creations make wonderful Christmas gifts for friends, neighbours and clients, too! Why not give a wreath earlier in the season so the recipient can enjoy the magic leading up to Christmas! When you order a fresh holiday wreath by ‘The Wreath Maker’ this Christmas season and (mention Pink Days In Bloom), a portion of your wreath purchase will be donated to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation – Atlantic.

Wreaths come in various sizes listed below; all fit a standard size door. These wreaths are expertly constructed of fresh balsam fir, decorated with berries and pinecones, finished off with a weatherproof red bow!
Small – 14” ($25), Medium – 18” ($35), Large – 24” ($45) and Extra Large – 30” ($60)
I LOVE the look of an evergreen symbol of the season and circle of life on my front door or gate, especially during the holidays! I have been buying wreaths from The Wreath Maker for over 25 years. It is a beloved Christmas tradition for our family! Now, you can, too! AND, while you’re at it, create a future without breast cancer…Until next time!
Thanks for stopping by!
Wishing you a beautiful day,

Linda

Christmas Wreaths for the Cure!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

I am thrilled to be joining the party at Home Sweet Home, What to do Weekends, Feathered Nest Friday, Saturday Show Off,  Pink Saturday, Simple and Sweet FridayShow and Tell, Shabbilicious Friday and Christmas, Fridays Unfolded, Show Off Friday , Much A Do About MondayAmaze Me Monday, Creative Monday, Tuesdays At Our Home, Tea Time Tuesday, A Return to Loveliness, Show and Share, Inspire Me Tuesday, The Scoop, Teacup Tuesday, Friends Sharing Tea, Tweak it Tuesday, Wordless Wednesday, What We Accomplished Wednesday , Wake Up Wednesday, The Homemaking Party, WoW Us Wednesday, What’s It Wednesday, Home and Garden Thursday, Thursday Favourite ThingsShare Your Cup Thursday, Shabbilicious Christmas! YAY!

  1. 2014/11/14 at 11:39 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous Christmas display…I would have to say your sweet delicate water set is my favourite followed closely by your grandmother’s Carnival Glass Jug. I love having pieces of family china…it keeps them and the memories of times spent with that piece alive. Thank you for sharing.
    HPS Michelle

    • 2014/11/15 at 6:09 pm

      Greetings, Michelle!
      I think you are perhaps a kindred spirit when it comes to family dishes. I, too, love that each piece has a story!
      Thanks so much for popping in!
      Linda

  2. 2014/11/15 at 1:06 pm

    What a beautiful display. I’m more than a little jealous of all the stunning china. I love that amber colour and the glasses with the bubbles are gorgeous. You clearly have a talent for decorating and for photographs. Your home must really be a sight when it’s fully decorated. Hope you have a lovely weekend and are enjoying the chilly weather. Christmas isn’t far off now!

  3. Carolyn VanderHoff
    2014/11/15 at 5:54 pm

    I am so inspired by your ideas! I, too, have some Amber glass and some beautiful old cake plates which I am going to use for some new creative displays. Thank you so much for sharing your ideas.

    • 2014/11/15 at 6:00 pm

      Hi Carolyn!
      I LOVE to hear that! I’m thrilled you enjoyed this post. Thanks so much for visiting and also for the sweet, “Hello!” I am like a kid at Christmas whenever I discover beautiful ‘footprints’ in my Inbox. Lol
      Wishing you a beautiful day,
      Linda

  4. 2014/11/15 at 6:37 pm

    Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous decorations! You are a woman after my own heart ~ I love a little sparkle, too. In the past I have always waited until after Thanksgiving to start decorating but I’m thinking about getting an early start this year just so I can enjoy it. I might just pull all of the Christmas decorations out next weekend ~ you’ve inspired me.

    • 2014/11/15 at 6:39 pm

      Hi Eileen!
      My heart always skips a beat whenever I learn that someone is inspired from reading my little blog! Thank you for making my day!
      Linda

  5. 2014/11/17 at 11:21 am

    Dearest Linda,

    Thank you for your kind comment on my blog. If it comes to tea you and I are kindred spirits indeed 🙂 Hope we will be able to drink a cup together one day!
    I enjoyed seeing your Christmas decorations. Love your collection of amber glassware. Never seen anything in that colour. It looks a bit like bohemian glassware which we now and then see in Holland, but that has different colours.
    Compliments to your neighbour for making those pretty snowflake cookies! I do like the gingerbread hearts as well! We still have to wait a week or two before we start decorating. Sinterklaas has to arrive first.

    Wishing you a happy week!
    Madelief x

    • 2014/11/18 at 4:57 pm

      Hi Madelief!
      It’s always so great to hear from you. I hope you and your girls are doing well. Your photos in the Christmas issue of “Victorian Home” are beautiful. I just love learning about all the different customs around the world at Christmastime, too. So thrilling to me! It’s my favourite holiday, after all! Yes, one day we will enjoy a cuppa together! It’s on my bucket list! XO
      Linda

  6. 2014/11/17 at 10:53 pm

    This is one amazing display. I love it all. Thanks for sharing these beautiful glasses.
    Blessings, Martha

  7. 2014/11/18 at 10:43 am

    Oooh, love all your sparkle and greenery, Linda! The reindeer are darling and the cookies are a sweet touch; very pretty! The eggnog bowl and cups are really delightful. The cups look like they were made to fit in the palm of your hand. Lots of inspiration here and thank you for sharing with us and joining me for tea. Have a splendid day, my friend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    • 2014/11/18 at 5:01 pm

      Hi Sandi!
      It’s always a treat to join you for tea on your blog! I look forward to it every time and seeing all the inspiration at the party. I just wish I had more time…Sigh. Next time I come to Prince Edward Island, I will look up Carolyn and you, too! Something to look forward to…
      Hugs,
      Linda

  8. Charlene
    2014/11/18 at 12:18 pm

    Oh, to be so talented!!!
    Looking forward to seeing those beautiful fairies!!!

    • 2014/11/18 at 5:03 pm

      Hey, Charlene!
      Yes, I see you received my email! Lol I am really EXCITED about the Pink Days In Bloom garden fairies being part of our Downtown Santa Claus Parade this year! It’s the biggest event on the Island. More about that later…
      Linda

  9. bethnpenn
    2014/11/18 at 4:59 pm

    What a beautiful Setting. Silver and Gold go together beautifully at this time of year!

    • 2014/11/18 at 5:06 pm

      Greetings, Beth!
      LOVE that combo any time of year and for any occasion.
      Thanks for stopping by and taking time to leave your lovely footprint to let me know that you were here.
      So nice of you!
      Cheers,
      Linda

  10. 2014/11/18 at 6:26 pm

    Gorgeous. What artful photographs. Felt like pages from Victoria magazine. Bravo!

    • 2014/11/18 at 6:59 pm

      Well, hello there ‘eclecticshorebird’!
      THANK YOU for that lovely compliment! I just “Eeeeked” aloud! You made my day and my husband responded, “I take it you’re feeling a little better tonight!” Haha Last night, I was definitely under the weather. Tonight, I am on top of the world! “Victoria” is an all-time fave! I appreciate it very much. I hope you will visit again soon.
      Linda

  11. 2014/11/19 at 12:09 am

    Oh, I always enjoy your Christmas post so much! Gorgeous. Thanks for sharing.

    • 2014/11/19 at 12:38 am

      Thanks, Sherry!
      That means alot coming from you. XO
      Your cranberry upside down cake looks very delicious!
      Linda

  12. 2014/11/19 at 8:49 am

    You have the best display of lustre ware that I have seen yet. It is wonderful that you use it and display it so nicely. Thank you for sharing!

    • 2014/11/19 at 10:32 am

      Than you, Mary. I really don’t have much but what I do have I count among my prize possessions just because each piece has meaning to me. I love ‘storied’ treasures. I visited you earlier and left my footprint! Lol

  13. 2014/11/19 at 4:12 pm

    Well, if I wasn’t in the mood to decorate for Christmas, I am now after looking at all your lovely photos. Pretty as a Christmas card. I love that you include some vintage photos in your decor. So meaningful and beautiful. Visiting you via “wakeupwednesday” linkup.

    • 2014/11/19 at 7:21 pm

      Barb!
      Thanks for coming by to see me. I appreciate your comment, “Pretty as a Christmas card”. I’m over the moon that you enjoyed my post. I aim to create a mood through styling. I hope to do a photography course after the holidays. I just followed you on Twitter!
      Wishing you an inspired November,
      Linda

  14. 2014/11/19 at 4:20 pm

    Your Christmas display is so inspiring. You’ve set the season aglow with an amber ambience. There are so many beautiful pieces to enjoy. The carnival glass jug is such a sweet memento of your grandmother. Yikes! I’d better get started with my decorating. I’m way behind you (Ha Ha). Can’t wait to see your place finished…Have a blessed day!!!

    • 2014/11/19 at 7:13 pm

      Thanks, Rosalind, for dropping by for a visit and your nice comment. I’m aiming to try and find time soon to share more decorating ideas. I popped by your blog to see you! That is one fantastic Christmas cactus you’ve got growing! I’ve never seen one so bountiful. Gorgeous!

  15. 2014/11/20 at 2:15 am

    Such a pretty Christmas vignette. I love the silver reindeer and how you used pictures among your favorite heirloom pieces. So pretty! Thank you for sharing at What We Accomplished Wednesdays. Have a great weekend!
    Blessings, Deborah

    • 2014/11/20 at 7:40 am

      Hi Deborah!
      Thanks for your visit and for always hosting such a great party! FUN!
      Stay cozy and crafty!
      Linda

  16. 2014/11/20 at 2:14 pm

    Thank you Linda! I will feature this post today at Home Sweet Home. It isn’t Christmas unless we have visited with you.
    Sherry

    • 2014/11/20 at 8:29 pm

      Sherry!
      What a lovely thing to say! It is my honest pleasure to share my Christmas ideas. I especially enjoy it when someone else enjoys them, too! Thank you for choosing to feature my post!
      Wishing you and your readers a beautiful Thanksgiving,
      Linda

  17. 2014/11/20 at 3:33 pm

    This is all SO beautiful! I love every inch and detail of it!

    • 2014/11/20 at 8:52 pm

      Hi Julie,
      Bless you and your enthusiasm! It thrills me to know that you enjoyed this holiday-themed post.
      I popped by to see your elegant Thanksgiving tablescape. LOVE your quotes individually and thoughtfully selected to suit each guest at your table.
      Linda

  18. 2014/11/20 at 10:35 pm

    All I can say is Wow! I love your vignettes! I can’t wait to see more of your posts, very pretty photots!

    • 2014/11/20 at 10:49 pm

      Hello, Jan!
      It’s always nice to meet a kindred spirit!
      Love your Christmassy bedroom.
      It seems we have much in common! Lol
      Linda

  19. 2014/11/24 at 1:19 pm

    Linda – congratulations on your new camera! So much fun! Gorgeous Christmas vignettes – love your amberware! I will be featuring your post in this week’s A Return to Loveliness,
    Kathy

    • 2014/11/24 at 5:06 pm

      Thank you, Kathy! I’m excited that you’ve chosen to feature my holiday post! That’s so nice of you.
      I’m on my way…
      Linda

  20. Iris
    2014/11/30 at 10:05 pm

    Dear Linda, Last year I ran across your Christmas photos but didn’t save or reference them. This year I found you again and am so happy. The vignettes you create are just amazing. I was having a hard time finding any Christmas creativity but you have inspired me. I will not be entertaining at all this year so I was just going to do the tree and the mantel but I have now made a trip to the attic to start looking through my many years worth of special Santas and think of new ways to display them. Thank you.

    • 2014/11/30 at 10:40 pm

      Hi Iris!
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment. It makes me so happy to hear that! I think it’s awesome that you are wanting to do this after reading my post! With all the rushing about and other things happening in our lives, it is sometimes hard to muster the inspiration and energy to create at Christmastime. Even to create a corner or two can infuse our home with magic. And, I crave that magic.
      This has been a great day here with my Pink Days In Bloom (a breast cancer fundraiser) garden fairies taking part in our city’s Santa Claus Parade. Have a look at this link: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Pink-Days-in-Bloom/382061855145657 I hope you enJOY the images. It’s Christmas now! Lol
      Hugs,
      Linda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment