Home > CHRISTMAS, CONTESTS > From Canada to Holland…Christmas Wishes Across the Miles

From Canada to Holland…Christmas Wishes Across the Miles

Happy Christmas, Madelief!

Happy, happy Christmas, that can win us back to the delusions of our childish days; that can recall to the old man the pleasures of his youth; that can transport the sailor and the traveller, thousands of miles away, back to his own fire-side and his quiet home!  ~Charles Dickens, The Pickwick Papers, 1836

November Greetings,

You’ve probably noticed that I’ve been a little lazy with the blog lately – so much has been going on here and it’s been hard to find the time most days. I was in Toronto last week (I’ll tell you a little about that next post), and this week I’m trying to gather myself to do all that is needed to be done around here readying for the holidays (including a small reno).  And, of course, we are gearing up for a fundraiser, “A Christmas Tea for Lucas” on December 11th. We are really looking forward to it – but more about that later, too.  There’s so much to tell!

When I realized the date on the calendar (yikes! time is flying by), I thought I’d better hurry up and post about my blog give-away.

Thank you all for your lovely comments.  When I first announced the give-away in October, I was celebrating reaching upwards of 15,000 visits, and already we are climbing to 20,000 quickly.  I can’t thank you all enough for caring and your interest to take time out of the precious moments in your own day to stop in for a visit. Your comments keep me motivated and lift my spirits always, no matter what is on the day’s agenda.  Thank you for this!

Well, I am thrilled to tell you (if you haven’t already guessed by the top line of this post) that Madelief is the lucky winner of my special give-away. She has a beautiful blog and I hope you will visit here to learn about her wonderful life in the Netherlands.

I am about to post Madelief’s gift in the mail to her.  I am hoping that it arrives in time for her family’s celebration of Sinter Klaas – the Dutch exchange gifts on December 5th. Madelief tells me it is after this celebration, that her Christmas decorating will begin in earnest.  Madelief’s decorating style is minimalist – very sophisticated and  stunningly gorgeous!

The festive contents of my holiday give-away to Madelief include a set of four quality linen table napkins in the most fantastic cherry-red colour I’ve ever come across, festively printed paper napkins (love the vibrant bird and flowers on these), a box of delicious Rogers Victorian creams, a set of four tins of hot chocolate in a variety of flavours (in a sweet series of collector tins) and a darling little porcelain ‘Peace’ star to wish upon and hang anywhere your heart desires…It was so much fun gathering these items for this special give-away!

Congrats Madelief!  I hope you enjoy your holiday gift!  I have never before posted anything to the Netherlands and am curious to know how long it will take to arrive to you all the way from Newfoundland, Canada to Rotterdam! We’ll be tracking the parcel all the way until it arrives in Holland, and it will be so interesting to see its path…

Do you know the intriguing story of Canada’s relationship with Holland?  The post JOYFUL FALL BULBS will give you some idea…

For those of you who know me personally, you know that it has been a long-time dream of mine to visit Europe in early December to tour the enchanting Christmas markets there. Sigh. I have had this dream since I first read about the Christmas markets when I was just a little girl. I hope one day it will come true…

I hope you enjoy the photos of these little Christmas treasures.

Wishing you all a beautiful week ahead.  Thanks again for visiting!

Linda

May

Peace

be your gift at Christmas and your blessing all year through!  ~Author Unknown

Categories: CHRISTMAS, CONTESTS
  1. 2011/11/20 at 5:26 am

    Dear Linda,

    Now that I read your post, I am looking forward to your presents even more. It all looks so beautiful! I can see you spent lots of time finding the right things. I do appreciate that very much!

    I just left a comment on one of your earlier posts. I hope I will find some time later in the day to email you back. Have to go into town first to buy some presents :-)!

    I do hope that you will be able to make your dream come true soon. Please let me know when you come. Perhaps we can meet in Rotterdam, Delft or Amsterdam!

    Wish you a Happy Sunday!

    Lieve groet,

    Madelief x

  2. 2011/11/30 at 7:57 am

    Hi Linda,

    I know Madelief will love her gift. I hope your dream of going to Europe does come true, and just maybe…!

    Carolyn

  3. 2011/12/03 at 1:25 pm

    Dearest Linda,

    Lovely giveaway for Madelief! You blog is spectacular, too. Of course, being Dutch by birth, American by choice, we do know about the friendly ties between The Netherlands and Canada. Princess Margriet is born in Canada. So is our ‘daughter’ who’s born in British Columbia, so we have special ties with Canada, too. She’s flying today from The Netherlands to Georgia/US. She also lives in the town of Madelief… Enough connections here!

    Just wanted to let you know I’ve enjoyed visiting you.

    Love to you and try to stay warm,

    Mariette

  4. Helena
    2011/12/15 at 6:14 pm

    As always, I miss all of you the most at Christmas. Especially Mom. I love how you keep her alive in your blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

