Home > EVENTS, INSPIRATIONS, PINK > Pink Days in Bloom!

Pink Days in Bloom!

These roses bloomed from a rose tree-standard in a planter on my deck last season.  They are called ‘Waterfall’…

Welcome Dear Friends, Old and New!

TEA ANYONE?  I invite you to sit and sip a cuppa with me. Do you like raspberry herbal? I enjoy it very much without anything added, but you may like to try a little lemon or honey.  It’s a tasty rosy pink tisane!  I am so excited that you stopped by for a visit today!
A LOT CAN HAPPEN IN A YEAR!  Things are happening which I alluded to in a past Christmas post and promised that I would tell you about.  We have much to talk about. In fact, I have so much to talk with you about today that there are two parts to this post!  If you are a regular visitor to ‘Beautiful Ideas’, you may have noticed that I have been taking a little break from blogging lately.  Actually, I have been so busy partly because of the blog and the amazing opportunities that it has brought with it this past year, which was my first year of blogging!  Whew! A lot can happen in a year!  First, have a listen to this gorgeous Celtic Woman with the voice of an angel.  I love how she sings, “When You Believe”.  What happens when we believe in something?!  It fuels our enthusiasm, uplifts our spirit and often becomes our passion…
I think this performance was filmed at Powerscourt House and Gardens in Ireland – a place to add to my “Must-Visit Gardens” list…

“WHEN YOU DO nothing, you feel overwhelmed and powerless. But when you get involved, you feel the sense of hope and accomplishment that comes from knowing you are working to make things better.” ~ Unknown

GROWING PINK DAYS! I have been occupied in recent months tending a garden of sorts – growing ‘Garden Pink Days’ a high-spirited fun’draiser for breast cancer research, equipment and programs in my home province. The first local Garden Pink Days was held last July at a favourite garden centre, Pat’s Plants and Gardens.  It was a beautiful success!

Pink Days is about Awareness, Hope & Support for persons with breast cancer, their families & friends; while at the same time, promoting gardening as part of healthy & beautiful living.  Raising funds for breast cancer research, programs & equipment is a bonus.  Pink Days is a way like no other that enables garden centres to connect with their gardening customers in creating a future without breast cancer.  Pink Days is a Win-Win for everyone involved!”

 
THE SEED IS PLANTED…  The first seed was planted last June as I was browsing the pages of a gardening magazine. Proven Winners, a well-known grower to many gardeners, was promoting its first hybridized pink Annabelle hydrangea, ‘Invincibelle Spirit’, specially developed in tribute to persons with breast cancer.  For every plant sold, Proven Winners will donate $1 and up to $1 million to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation. To date, proceeds from sales of ‘Invincibelle Spirit’ are climbing to nearly half a million dollars for breast cancer research!

The impossible can always be broken down into possibilities. ~Author Unknown

TRUE BEAUTY AND DEEP MEANING IN THE GARDEN   I loved the idea of having a way to add beauty and true meaning to my garden, and to honour my beloved mom-in-law,  Ethel, who died from breast cancer in November 2009.  She was an avid gardener, a best friend, a kindred spirit… Every day I miss having her in my life. And, off I went in search of the ‘Invincibelle Spirit’ for my garden to honour Ethel’s beautiful spirit in our garden. I found the pink plant at Pat’s Plants and Gardens, Bay Bulls. Many of you know already that I was on medical leave at the time myself recovering from breast cancer treatments. So, for me, the plant has even greater significance.
IF YOU BELIEVE … When I returned from Pat’s Plants and Gardens, I googled the plant and discovered that Proven Winners has a ‘Pink Days’ campaign.  I immediately contacted Pat Puddester, the owner of the glorious garden centre where I had purchased my plant, and asked if she might consider hosting a Pink Day to raise funds in support of breast cancer research, programs and equipment in this province.  Pat not only said, “Yes!”, she insisted that we hold an entire Pink Weekend! What a woman! In addition to funds raised from prize draws, auction items, and other fun activities, Pat offered to contribute 10% of pink plant sales throughout the weekend!  Pink Days generated a lot of excitement and positive buzz about town. Just a few short weeks later, we had ourselves a beautiful and successful Garden Pink Day! We raised over $2,300.  You can see what we did and photos here, here , and here .  Pat and I, and many of the volunteers that day, have since become good friends – another beautiful bonus of Pink Days!

Make your optimism come true. ~Author Unknown

A TRULY BEAUTIFUL IDEA! Proven Winners actively promotes their Pink Day campaign in the U.S.  Initially, I emailed the company and thanked them for the beautiful idea of the Invicibelle Spirit pink hyrangea.  They were thrilled to know that Pink Days was in bloom here!  Shortly after that first contact, Proven Winners asked to use this blog post about our local event as part of a presentation to their major growers to let them know the impact of the plant and the Pink Days campaign in this part of the world!

Determine that the thing can and shall be done, and then we shall find the way. ~Abraham Lincoln

 EXPERIENCE PINK…  A month or so after the inaugural Pink Days here, Proven Winners emailed me (while I was on holiday on Prince Edward Island, meeting my new friend Carolyn Aiken of the popular blog Aiken Home and Gardens!) to say they would be attending a huge international industry conference in Chicago the following week, and could they use articles from my blog posts possibly for distribution in their media kits.  Over 10,000 people would be attending. And could they, too, incorporate some of the blog photos from this post in their table centrepieces at a luncheon they would be hosting for 500 guests – just to let people know what they’d be missing out on if they didn’t host a Pink Day!!  No problem! WHAHOO!

We will either find a way or make one. ~Hannibal

I CAN’T BELIEVE!  Okay, here’s where I say, “I can’t believe what just happened!”  Barely four short months after the first-ever Pink Days was hosted at Pats Plants and Gardens here in Newfoundland, I was invited to Toronto to speak at a national industry conference of representatives from independent garden centres across Canada hosted by Sheridan Nurseries.  I was to tell about my own story about having breast cancer and my personal Pink Day experience. The beautiful Stacey Hirvela from Proven Winners was presenting and she was playing the photos on the big screen behind her of our fun’draiser as an inspiration to others! The dream for me has been that in the years to come, the idea of Pink Days will catch on and continue to spread across our fair Island.  I could never  have dreamed in a zillion years,  that I would have an opportunity to champion the cause to owners of garden centres across the country!!!

I’ve learned that you shouldn’t go through life with a catcher’s mitt on both hands; you need to be able to throw something back. ~Mayo Angelou

I am thrilled to tell you that Pink Days has grown this year to include five (Yes, 5!) AWESOME garden centres on the Avalon Peninsula in Summer 2012.  Pat’s Plants and Gardens is excitedly looking forward to hosting its Second Annual Garden Pink Days on July 14-15.  Generously joining in the cause are:  Hickey’s Greenhouses, both their Dunville (June 30) and Kelligrews, Conception Bay South (July 7) locations; Shand Nurseries, Pouch Cove (July 21), and O’Neill’s Gardlenland, Spaniards Bay (July 22).   And, interest is growing…

I hope you enjoyed your tea!

PINK BLOOMS!  This year, Landscape Newfoundland and Labrador, too, has joined the cause in kindly contributing space at its Spring Landscaping and Garden Show and Symposium on Saturday, April 28th and Sunday, April 29th at the Jack Byrne Arena, Torbay enabling ‘Pink Days in Bloom!’ to be promoted to the thousands of visitors to the show.  Canada’s own gardening guru Mark Cullen will be their special guest!

INSPIRING WOMEN… More recently, I was invited to a meeting of a local breast cancer support group (the first time I’ve ever been to anything like this) specifically to talk with members about Pink Days.  Many of them volunteered to help get the word out at the Garden Show!  Thank you to all you lovely ladies who signed up!  You are the best!

Four short words sum up what has lifted most successful individuals above the crowd: a little bit more. They did all that was expected of them and a little bit more. ~A. Lou Vickery

THANK YOU!  I am over-the-moon by the enthusiasm and support demonstrated by local businesses and volunteers; including women living with breast cancer, survivors, and their families and friends.  It is beyond inspiring to see all of these people so willingly give back to their communities. The high energy, big-heartedness, and all-embracing spirit – even among strangers – that springs from a Pink Day event is palpable and infectious.
A WAY LIKE NO OTHER… Garden Pink Days is really a way like no other in connecting with people, young and old, who live in our neighbourhoods, while offering comfort and support to fight the disease.  Raising funds for breast cancer research is a bonus!  To someone like me,  Pink Days mean the world.  We have to believe that the cause and cure for breast cancer will be found in our lifetime, so our children today will not have to suffer tomorrow.

 

And, speaking of children…I could not resist sharing with you this photo of my precious young grandnieces Victoria, 8 and Lily, 1. Big sister just adores little sister!  I played with the special effects a bit…I love how it looks a little like an oil painting.  What do you think?  

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.  ~Maya Angelou

THOUGHT-PROVOKING QUESTION:   “Is there inequity between the iconic ‘Pink Ribbon’ campaign proceeds and breast cancer research?” Is your curiousity peaked?  Stay tuned for ‘PINK TWIST’ – Part II of this post…

PLEASE BE SURE TO VISIT PINK DAYS IN BLOOM ON FACEBOOK…

Many thanks for choosing to spend some precious moments of your day here!  

I’m so glad you came.

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Linda

I am joining Meet Me MondayMasterpiece MondayTeatime Tuesday, Bloomin Tuesday, Tuesday Garden PartyYour Cozy Home PartyTea Cuppa TuesdayTea Party TuesdayA Return to Loveliness, Friends Sharing Tea, Outdoor WednesdayWhat’s It Wednesday, Time Traveller Thursday, Open House Party,   Simply Sweet, Seasonal SundaySunlit Sunday and Spring Link Blog Hop Party!!


  1. 2012/03/27 at 6:16 pm

    Hi Linda,

    What an inspirational post! The Waterfall roses are exquisite and I certainly enjoyed the video. The photo of your nieces is darling and I always enjoy seeing your lovely tea things!

    Having had a couple cancer scares myself, breast and uterine, both which turned out to be benign, I can identify with you a little bit. It changes one’s life when you’re faced with those situations! I also lost my best friend to breast cancer. So, I also understand the pain of loss.

    I applaud you for rising above your own circumstances to bring awareness to those around you. More Power to Pink! And, thank you for sharing from your heart.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  2. 2012/03/27 at 9:29 pm

    A heartfelt post. As a garden writer, I received PW Invincibelle to trial before she went to the nurseries the following year, and it gave me great pleasure to say in an article that a portion of the sales go to breast cancer. The Pink Days sound like fun, besides being for a worthy cause.

  3. 2012/03/27 at 10:26 pm

    A wonderful, as well as beautiful, post! A joy to read it. I can only applaud and rejoice at the successes.
    Thanks for linking to Tuesday Cuppa Tea.
    Ruth

  4. 2012/03/27 at 11:17 pm

    Just completely lovely! All of it! Amazing pinks.
    Thank you for linking to Tea Party Tuesday

  5. 2012/03/28 at 3:17 pm

    Dear Linda,
    So good to hear from you again! I have been popping over to your blog several times, but alas ;-)!
    I am really happy the fundraiser for breast cancer research is doing so well and bringing you lots of joy.
    I enjoyed reading how you are and seeing your beautiful photographs.
    Take care!
    Lieve groet, Madelief x

  6. 2012/03/28 at 9:16 pm

    Hi Linda,
    I am so happy to hear how Pink Days has grown to 5 garden centres this year – all the hard work is paying off!
    I was looking at your blog with my Mom today as they got a new computer at the home where she lives. We enjoyed all the pretty pinks and I love the photo of your grandnieces – nice painting effect, too.
    Take care,
    Carolyn

  7. 2012/03/29 at 1:06 am

    Linda, this is a most beautiful good news post!
    It’s wonderful to hear that the Pink Days are so successful. Congratulations to you and everyone connected to them!
    Your Waterfall roses are stunning and the photo of your grandnieces is absolutely gorgeous! It does look like a beautiful painting 🙂
    Thank you for linking up to Simply Sweet.
    Have a blessed week…
    Trish

  8. barbara neubeck
    2012/03/29 at 8:50 am

    Hi Linda,
    Congratulations on the success of Pink Days. I hope the idea keeps growing and raising money and awareness for breast cancer. Your story is so inspiring.
    God Bless,
    Barb from Australia

  9. 2012/03/29 at 4:19 pm

    Oh, what a lovely post; and I know alot of work went into this! All your photos are so lovely and thank you for joining in Friends Sharing Tea!

  10. cozyhomescenes
    2012/03/29 at 7:40 pm

    Thank you for joining Your Cozy Home Party this week. I appreciate your participation. I did not know about the Pink Days events but I’m glad to know it is successful. Your photos are beautiful, especially those sweet children.
    Shannon

  11. 2012/04/01 at 8:30 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing with us at Ivy and Elephants. We so enjoyed all the gorgeous pink blooms. A lovely profusion of shades and hues. Your nieces are an adorable pair!
    Excellent photos, too!
    Hugs,
    Patti

  12. 2012/04/01 at 11:35 pm

    Congratulations on such success with such a noble cause.

    Wonderful to have you be a part of Seasonal Sundays.

    The Tablescaper

  13. Pondside
    2012/04/02 at 3:42 am

    What an amazing story! From here on the West Coast, to you on the East Coast, I wish you all the best with your next project!

  14. 2012/04/02 at 10:44 am

    Hello, Linda
    I enjoyed reading this amazing story. It’s fascinating how things grew and grew, so to speak! Thank you for linking to Sunlit Sunday.
    -Karen

  15. 2012/04/12 at 12:35 am

    Beautiful photos, thanks for sharing 🙂

  16. Joanne Skillen
    2012/08/24 at 1:47 pm

    Hi Linda
    What a wonderful way to share your story and pictures with others. I will be back often to “read, relax, and enjoy” your site.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

