Home > CHRISTMAS > The Festive Table

The Festive Table

P1130328Dear Friends,

How lovely it is that you are here just in time to share some time and tea together!  Have you started thinking about the gatherings you’ll host in the coming weeks? On my “To Do” list this year is to create a welcoming holiday table.

P1130260

More than any other time of year, I like to put in a little extra effort in pulling together a look for our table that says to guests, “You are special and we’re glad you’re here! This is a table in your honour.” 

P1130251I plan to use items collected from rooms throughout our home and give them a new, albeit temporary, purpose at the dining table; things that bring a touch of glitz, elevate the occasion and even add an element of sweet surprise! The fun is in using ‘found’ things I already have in unexpected ways and seeing my guests’ faces light up when they enter the room! I thought I would experiment first on a smaller scale, a practice run. I gathered some tree trimmings to see how they might look…

P1130242May comfort and joy come to youP1130123 P1130219

This tablescape was fashioned using some gorgeous, very unexpected gifts from a dear and generous friend!  Popular local designer Eric White, also known as “Mr. Christmas”, gave his tenth and final legendary annual “White Before Christmas” at our local Arts and Culture Centre last fall. Every year for a decade, it was a much-anticipated sold-out event in the months leading up to Christmas with a long wait list every time. 

P1130227

During his grand finale event to benefit the library, Eric caught me quite by surprise and presented me with a sled load of spectacular gifts, among them this porcelain gold-rimmed dinnerware (enough for 6 place settings) and coordinating glassware, gold charger plates, table linens, together with ten tiny presents all beautifully boxed and wrapped in the most glorious papers and bows and tags imaginable!

P1130253
P1130256
I remember I was feeling exhausted that evening. My husband had been in hospital all that week following heart surgery. I was working full days and heading to the hospital immediately after work.  He had just been released from the hospital hours only before the show. As Eric spoke my name, the words were not, at first, registering with me. My co-worker Joan who was sitting in the row behind me finally poked me in the shoulder and whispered at the back of my head, “He’s talking to you!” Lol  When I looked at Eric, he was looking directly at me and asking “Well, my dear, are you coming up?” Lol  
 
P1130257
 I immediately popped up in my seat, somewhat dazed! I had earlier settled myself into my chair and had kicked off my shoes. I quickly walked to the stage feeling very flat-footed, much shorter and unsure what was happening in that moment! Lol  To say the least, I was very humbled as it was obvious to me that Eric had put much thought into this menagerie of gifts with which he presented me. For instance, he had known for some time that I had been swooning over some holiday tags made by a friend of his. I must have mentioned those tags a dozen or more times! A stack of tags personalized with my name on them had been tucked into a perfect, prettily wrapped box! 
 
P1130261
 At the end of the night, with the help of Eric and his staff, my girlfriend’s car was loaded up with the treasures that he had gifted me, and they filled the trunk and back seat of her car to take to my home! I was speechless, dazed and amazed by the whole thing, my gratitude beyond words. 
P1130267
 I thought I would have a little fun seeing how my tabletop might be inspired this year and wanted to share it with you, as I know many of you are searching out ideas for your own holiday tables.  I love to elevate things in varying heights, for added interest.  Glittery tree ornaments gently placed represent a special take-away gift for each guest who will be seated at the table.
 
P1130270 P1130275 P1130278 P1130283 P1130296 P1130300 P1130301 P1130302 P1130307 P1130308 P1130309
P1130315
P1130316 P1130317 P1130318 P1130319 P1130320 P1130322 P1130325

An angel has come in from the garden to watch over my table…
P1130326

I love to drape garlands around my tables!  Don’t they really add a sumptuous feel to the occasion?  This is a faux cedar garland.  It is very soft and pliable, so easy to shape.  Of course, you can use the real thing when the time comes.  I am keeping my fresh garlands in the trunk of my car at the moment where they will keep cool.  My husband and I are going to be festooning our front doorway today and I think I might have a roping of greens left over to use in the kitchen, maybe to use at the table!P1130240Candlelight lends an intimate, glowing feel to the meal.   Tall candle tapers are certainly spectacular but I admit I am a little nervous of using them and cannot relax while they are lit. If you’re shy of real candles, the battery operated ones are lovely, too.

P1130254P1130285 P1130316 P1130256

P1130117“Eating is so intimate.  It’s very sensual.  When you invite someone to sit at your table and you want to cook for them, you’re inviting a person into your life.”  Maya Angelou

P1130314I  am dreaming of new ways to use old things, like this garden angel who has come in from outside.  She has been cleaned up to look her best for company! I like combining the new with the old, for a less contrived and more relaxed, romantic atmosphere.  I’m off to think about all the things I can find that can be converted with a holiday theme and relocated somewhere else in the house for a little “Christmas vacation”.  We can all certainly use a little change sometimes! I hope you enjoyed the photos and can feel the love at my table today! XO I am so glad you came by! I finally finished all my exterior planters, so I hope you will join me for another cuppa soon! Happy decorating!

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Linda

P1130313P1130309

If you would like to see a tea set that my friend Eric presented to me at a fundraising tea for breast cancer research, click on the link below and you’ll find a photo at the end of the post.

https://beautifulideas.wordpress.com/2013/01/31/a-walk-in-the-park/

I am happy to be joining Inspiration Monday, Make it Pretty MondayTeatime Tuesday, The ScoopFriends Sharing Tea, Cottage Style PartyA Return to LovelinessWhat’s It Wednesday, What We Accomplished WednesdayThe Homemaking Party, Tablescape Thursday, Open House Thursday , Home and Garden Thursday, Home Sweet Home, Time Travel ThursdayFresh-cut Friday, Let’s DishFeathered Nest FridayShow and Tell Friday, What To Do Weekends, Pink SaturdaySaturday Show Off, Be Inspired and Seasonal Sunday!

  1. 2013/12/01 at 11:16 am

    Oh my goodness, everything looks sumptuous! What a gorgeous table setting with the angel and all! Great job.

  2. ehickey
    2013/12/01 at 5:01 pm

    Sweet sharings!!

  3. 2013/12/01 at 5:04 pm

    You’ve created such a warm and inviting space. Love it!

  4. Bonita Pelley
    2013/12/02 at 8:58 am

    Wow !! So festive, beautiful.

  5. Flo
    2013/12/02 at 2:07 pm

    Wish you could do MY Christmas decorating!

  6. 2013/12/03 at 2:14 pm

    What a stunning table, Linda! It was very thoughtful of your friend Eric to gift you with these treasures and you’ve placed them so beautifully on the table. I love the cloches and the ornaments; gorgeous! The angel adds a lovely touch as does the greenery. Thank you for sharing this at Tea Time and have a beautiful day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  7. 2013/12/03 at 3:38 pm

    You really outdid yourself. I’m feeling like I’ll need to dress well if ever I’m invited to your table. Truly, gold looks so rich and festive and perfect for tablescapes. I just adore each place setting, how they are unique to the individual with the evergreens and glass bell.

  8. 2013/12/05 at 3:48 pm

    Your table just sparkles with beauty. How lovely the whole setting is and I am so glad you shared with “Friends Sharing Tea”!

  9. Sherry
    2013/12/05 at 6:35 pm

    What a gorgeous table! I love the way you wrapped the table in the greenery!

  10. 2013/12/05 at 8:56 pm

    I can’t say enough about how beautiful your table is! Love how the colors coordinate with each other so well. Just lovely.

  11. Liz
    2013/12/05 at 9:36 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous! I thought those beautiful garlands were fresh! 🙂
    Thank you so much for joining in for Fresh-Friday!
    ~Liz

    • 2013/12/05 at 9:42 pm

      Thanks, Liz! The cedar clippings at each place setting are the real thing. Using a combination adds realism to the entire scene, don’t you think! The manufacturers call them ‘Everlastings’, which I think is quite appropriate given how realistic they are. Tonight I am enjoying all the blog parties while listening to one of my fave songs, “The Wexford Carol” on TV (The program is “Libera: Angels Sing Christmas in Ireland”.) Not to be missed! XO Happy Holidays to you.

  12. 2013/12/06 at 1:08 am

    Your table is very striking, Linda! What a generous gift to cherish.

  13. 2013/12/06 at 6:32 pm

    What a stunning table! I got a little teary eyed when you shared that wonderful story; thank you 🙂
    XO
    Christine

  14. FABBY
    2013/12/06 at 8:34 pm

    Your table is stunning! I love the gorgeous angel, beautiful china and the tablecloth all done up with fresh greenery, so elegant…love it all! I’m here from Saturday Show Off. Enjoy this beautiful season.
    FABBY

  15. 2013/12/07 at 1:02 pm

    Oh my!!! Just glorious!!! Really, really inspiring. Thank you for sharing all of this loveliness with us. Wonderful!
    Catherine

  16. Bev
    2013/12/09 at 10:26 am

    I am in love with this table!!!! The gold with white and touches of green color scheme is so elegant. Beautiful!

  17. 2013/12/11 at 12:24 am

    What a stunning tablescape! Your guests will be delighted. I will be featuring it at my party as soon as I can get it up. Thank you for sharing it at What We Accomplished Wednesdays.

  18. 2013/12/11 at 6:05 pm

    Wow, this looks wonderful and elegant! I do appreciate you sharing with Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

  19. 2013/12/12 at 11:06 pm

    Beautiful and intimate!

  20. 2013/12/15 at 7:07 pm

    How gorgeous! I love your gold, white, and fresh greenery. The pomegranate arrangement is perfect! I’m linking from Fresh Cut Friday (I was late to the party)!

    xo,
    Ricki Jill

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

