Home > CHRISTMAS, HOUSE DRESSINGS, PROJECTS > Blah-Blah Bath Makeover

Blah-Blah Bath Makeover

Dear Friends,

I realized that I had never shared any photos of our bathroom makeover and so I decided better late than never.  When we first moved into our home, we declared the first thing that “had to go” was the bathroom. It took some 20 years to finally get around to it.  Bathroom renovations are alot of work, particularly when you strip everything down to the wall studs and start over.  It was a job we had been dreading.  The entire renovation took 3 weeks and we were without a working bathroom for 3 days during the final part of the process, while the floor tile was setting and the plumbing was being done.

The original bathroom had grey fixtures. They came with the house. I  couldn’t wait to have them gone.  And, while waiting for the makeover to happen, I had painted the walls grey, too, so the fixtures would ‘disappear’.  I think I only made things worse.  So, I was determined when the makeover finally came that I would not make the same mistakes again.

I never liked our bathroom.  Now I LOVE it!  It’s just a teeny bath that packs a punch!  Like a little jewel box.  The wood trims alone took our finish carpenter several days to complete.  He did a great job, painstakingly crafting each piece of molding, crown, and baseboard himself.  And, he was a dream to work with – I had a vision and he totally achieved it!  Thank you, Gerry!  The look I was going for was fresh, clean and sophisticated.

I took a trip to France some years back. The new bath is somewhat Parisian-hotel inspired… Some people thought a chandelier could never work in this little space.  And, what on earth was I thinking installing a chandelier in the bath anyway?  Just sayin’.  lol

What do YOU think?   Click on the Smilebox slideshow if you’d like to see the end result. Turn up your volume to hear the music. 🙂

Click to play this Smilebox slideshow
Create your own slideshow - Powered by Smilebox
This slideshow design created with Smilebox

Here are some more recent pics of the bath with a few little touches of Christmas cheer.  Why not?

Paint colours:  Muslin and Sugar White by Martha Stewart / Chandelier – Pottery Barn Online / Mirror and Light Sconces – Restoration Hardware Online / Faucets and Fixtures – Moen / Towels and Accessories – HomeSense

Thank you for stopping by!  I hope you enjoyed the tour.

Wishing you a beautiful day,
Linda
  1. 2012/11/22 at 10:28 pm

    Hi Linda,
    It is a lovely makeover – lots of work! Hope all is well with you. I know you are probably busy with all your Christmas preparations etc.
    Take care,
    Carolyn

  2. 2012/11/23 at 11:00 am

    Great article about how to make over your bathroom in time for Christmas guests http://plumbonline.net/store/news/article/get-the-aquatic-look-in-your-bathroom/801489134/

  3. 2012/11/23 at 6:55 pm

    Hi Linda,
    Your bathroom looks wonderful.
    I love the fresh greenery hanging from the door.
    Tammy

  4. 2012/11/23 at 7:43 pm

    Looks darling – thanks for linking to “Open House”.

  5. 2012/11/24 at 6:07 pm

    Hi! Found u at Common Ground. Love the bathroom, the molding, the light fixture, pretty much everything, even the Christmas touches. It gives me hope for my tiny first floor bath! Thx for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

