Home > CHRISTMAS, EVENTS > The Littlest Angels

The Littlest Angels

Be an angel to someone else whenever you can, as a way of thanking God for the help your angel has given you.  ~Quoted in The Angels’ Little Instruction Book by Eileen Elias Freeman, 1994

Dear Friends,

I hope this season of beauty is filled with joy, contentment, and good health as you delight in the company of  family and friends, and in keeping alive the traditions of hope you hold near and dear.

As we are all hustling and bustling about these days, I thought I’d keep this post brief in sharing with you two darling harbingers of this spiritual season of love and giving.

The ‘Littlest Angels’ are new this year to my collection of Christmas treasures.  Every year I declare that I am never buying another holiday decoration!  Have you ever told yourself this?!  But, honestly, who could resist these sweet winged creatures?!  They just bring a smile to your face, don’t they?! Their perch this season is on a half wall in my kitchen near my pantry cupboards.  All the sprigs of pine, cedar and fir, as well as the hydrangea, are faux!  Can you tell?!  You’ll have to look closer. You can click on any of the photos to see more detail, if you like…

The tallest white ironstone pitcher was given to me by my  husband’s mother many years ago.  It had belonged to her mother-in-law; and even though its lip is chipped, she knew I’d love it.  And, when it’s filled with flowers or greenery (which it most always is), you can’t even notice the imperfection. I think it just adds tons of character.

I am dressing up my kitchen a little more than usual this year, preparing our home for a special holiday fundraiser  – A Christmas Tea for Lucas in support of my dear friend Carolyn Aiken’s grandson and family.  Many of you already know Carolyn from her blog about life on glorious Prince Edward Island, but for those of you who haven’t met her yet, I hope you will visit her here.  I promise you will enjoy it.

The Tea my husband and I are hosting features merry carol singing on the front lawn!  Yay! The carollers are from our Memorial University School of Music  here in Newfoundland. They are a wonderful volunteer group of students carolling to raise money for cancer research, a cause close to my heart.  And, of course, a holiday house tour is included, as well as lots of prizes and surprises.  It’s hard to believe that it will all be happening in just a little over a week on December 11th. Carolyn herself is hosting a Homes for the Holiday Tour in support of the Muscular Dystrophy Association on her Island the day before the Tea, on the 10th. You might say from an Island to an Island… There are so many things yet to do, aren’t there Carolyn?!

Enjoy your holiday preparations!  And, I know you’re all busy as bees, so thanks for taking precious time out of your day to stop by for a visit.  Have a lovely weekend!

Warmly, Linda

I am joining Tiaras and Bowties for their 25 Days of Christmas party.

Pay attention to your dreams – God’s angels often speak directly to our hearts when we are asleep.  ~Quoted in The Angels’ Little Instruction Book by Eileen Elias Freeman, 1994

Today I am joining Romantic Home for Show and Tell…and French Country Cottage for Feathered Nest Friday!

You’ve touched my life like an angel…Thanks for being there for me!  Anonymous

 

  1. 2011/12/03 at 1:43 am

    Sooo sweet Linda! They remind me of my two girls.
    I just love to look at your photos. Thanks for sharing!

  2. 2011/12/03 at 9:47 am

    Hi Linda,
    Your littlest angels are just so cute and I love the greenery around them in the pretty pitchers!
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend – I know next week will be so busy for you.
    Carolyn

  3. 2011/12/03 at 10:28 pm

    Linda, your wee angels are simply adorable! The greenery is gorgeous, too. A lovely post! Have a wonderful weekend.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  4. 2011/12/05 at 3:56 pm

    Dear Linda,

    What a lovely post. Your two little angels look beautiful! I know exactly what you mean…I keep saying to myself, too, that I have more than enough decorations, but somehow I always find something new :-)!

    Thank you for your email and your sweet comment on my blog, too. I will email you back asap, but it may take a while because we have our first Christmas concert next Saturday and I still have to practise a lot.

    My small parcel to you is on its way. I hope it will arrive on time for Christmas. I won’t tell you what it is, but I hope you will like it. Meanwhile, we are enjoying your presents very much. We have already used some of your cards and opened up the package with chocolates, which are delicious! I will show some of your presents in my next ‘red’ post! I hope it will bring you lots of new followers 🙂

    If only I could come over and help you baking. I would love to! I wish you lots of success with the preparations!

    Happy day & lieve groet,

    Madelief x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

