Home > CHRISTMAS > The Snow Tree

The Snow Tree

Hello Friends,

I am so glad that you’ve come to visit.  The teapot’s on and it won’t be but a minute brewing.  While we’re waiting for a cuppa, tell me, how did you enjoy your Christmas?

IMG_9069

Do you happen to have a favourite holiday decoration? For me, the Christmas tree is perhaps my most favourite thing of the holidays.  I can go without wreaths and garlands, sweets, presents, even turkey – but not without a tree!  I just love to sit and gaze (or maybe I should say, “glaze”)  at it, sometimes for hours, and soak up the beautiful light that it gives!  With a glass of bubbly by the fireside, it’s a slice of heaven on earth…  I hope that when I am too old and feeble to set up my own tree with a star on top that some kind Samaritan will do it for me, so I can still be surrounded by a little beauty during the Yuletide. It’s  just one of those things that makes my heart sing and keeps me going!

IMG_3405

I love our snowy tree, a romantic, glistening wintry wonderland.   Shiny ornaments and sheer, luxe twirling ribbons. Glass birds and feathered birds.  Crystal garlands and reflective prisms.  Glittery branches, sparkly twigs and ivies.  Velvety fantasy flowers and twinkling fairy lights. Teeny mirrors and miniature framed photos of my dad and my husband’s parents who are no longer with us…There’s alot of bling on our tree, out of necessity, you’ll soon see! Lol

IMG_3412 IMG_3413

On a crisp, clear evening, my husband and I purchased our tree from a holiday window display in a downtown shop at the last-minute before closing on 23rd December 25 years ago.  It wasn’t on sale and it was an expensive tree, and still would be in today’s currency.  It was a major purchase for us back then.  We thought about it as an investment in our future together…Lol  I remember squealing with excitement on the drive home with our new treasure tucked into the trunk.  I could hardly stand to wait until we brought it inside and set it up in our tiny apartment.  We had only been married a few years, and our Christmas was full of anticipation that year as we were hosting family and friends for our first-ever holiday buffet.  The tree was the star! Someone even asked, “How do you keep the snow from melting off the tree!”  None of us had never seen anything like it before!  Lots of photos of young and old alike were taken in front of the tree that year, and there have been lots in the years since.  We  have continued the tradition of gathering friends and relatives at our home during the season; and although I’ve gotten somewhat lazy in recent years, I still manage to host an open house or a tea, just not necessarily on New Year’s Day.  And, people to this day, even though the tree is starting to show its age, still remark about  ‘The Snow Tree’ in our living room!

IMG_3418

In its heyday, this tree was a natural beauty, even more beautiful without a stick of bling,  just the fairy lights peeping out from underneath the snow-laden boughs.  A dreamy, welcoming sight on a winter’s eve…The tree’s flocking is nearly all worn off now. Every year there is a bigger pile of snow at its feet and mine! Some of its limbs are bent and broken, tied up with wire to keep them from flopping to the floor.  Nowadays, it drips in a frosting of shimmery trims, piled on thick and deep and sweet, a camouflage to keep from seeing through to its bare arms and spindly core.  And, every year we add more bling as the holes in the tree grow bigger and bigger…

IMG_3425 IMG_3428

I have been hanging on to this old tree for many years, more than I care to admit, hesitant to let it go because it has been a large part of our Christmas tradition for such a long time. It is only a ‘thing’ after all, but things are what stir memories inside us and help us to remember places we’ve been, our experiences together, the people we love…  I look at our tree every day and see cherubs created by my friend Jean in her basement workshop, passionately painting into the wee hours of the morning; wooden hearts custom painted by my friend’s sister Joan, frosted roses plucked from my mother-in-law, Ethel’s, tree; and authentic Venetian masks brought from a European holiday with my childhood friend Gail (the ones she brought me from her Christmas in New Orleans one year are there, too); and bells and balls that are treasures gifted to me by co-workers and family through the years.  A Christmas tree can evoke a multitude of feelings and memories of  times past.  Is yours like that, too?

IMG_3429 IMG_3430 IMG_3432

On the practical side, I haven’t been able to find a single specimen to replace our tree that even comes close to its quality, or at least that suits me.  They just don’t make things like they used to, even flocked trees!  Sadly, when our tree comes down this year,  it will be final, a time to say ‘goodbye’ to ‘The Snow Tree’.  Sigh.  I will be forced to get a new tree next season.  I will view our parting as an opportunity for change and a chance to create a new and even more beautiful tradition.  Maybe I’ll try a real one.  I love all the images of natural Christmas trees on Pinterest, don’t you… I don’t know what form our tree will take next Yuletide, or where all the pinky ornaments will find a new home…Decidedly, I will look forward to a new tree.  One thing is for certain,  like so many of your own trees, there will be an angel and a star at the top to represent the host of angels and Bethlehem star over the nativity, yet it will be a tree that is one-of-a-kind rich with our own memories.

IMG_3451

Oh, my! Where has the time gone?  It’s dark outside already.  Time to turn on the tree lights inside.  I hope you are enjoying seeing all the details of the tree in the slideshow at the bottom of this post.  Thanks for keeping me company tonight!  I always love spending time with you, dear ones.

Wishing you all a beautiful New Year filled with beautiful new traditions and wonderful memories!

“Never worry about the size of your Christmas tree.  In the eyes of children, they are all 30-feet tall.”  Lary Wilde

Linda

  1. 2012/12/30 at 11:44 pm

    Linda, it’s all so pretty, so feminine! I absolutely love it!
    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

  2. Brenda Earles
    2012/12/31 at 12:24 am

    Saw a flocked tree yesterday at House to Home. You should have a look. I thought of you when I saw it. Merry Christmas

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Patty
    2012/12/31 at 1:22 am

    Love the story of your tree and, judging from how you bought it as a display tree, I would say it was commercial quality. You can still buy them beautifully flocked and, yes, they still sell them, though it is getting harder to find the independent retailers that will. I know this from working retail for years and the store owner would order trees for people (she took a list throughout the year) and would order them at the wholesale show in January. You see everything in retail is way before the season, so Jan orders are for fall/xmas and the summer show is for the next year’s spring/summer. The trees would arrive in August and we’d be calling them to come and get their xmas trees! Too funny. The trees are heavy, sturdy and flocked. They are made for commercial store displays, malls, etc. not the retail trade and are much better quality than those sold in stores. Do you know of a great independent retailer who would do this for you? Is the same store in business? This will be the only way you will ever be able to come close to the splendour of your old tree or, as you said, buy fresh and brush on some chalk paint to fake the snow.
    Patty/BC

  4. Pondside
    2012/12/31 at 3:33 am

    The best Christmas trees are the ones full of memories – and yours looks wonderful. A new tree will bring together the best of old memories and the best of new ideas.

  5. 2012/12/31 at 1:36 pm

    Hi Linda,
    Your tree is beautiful – are you sure you can’t squeeze a couple more years out of it? You do have lots of pretty ornaments on it, too. We always put up a real tree from a Christmas tree farmer and a couple of small fake ones. I have to say I love the real ones as they smell so nice.
    It is a sunny but cold day here today.
    Wishing you and Midge all the best for a healthy and happy New Year!
    Carolyn

  6. 2012/12/31 at 2:09 pm

    Such a lovely tree! I am catching up with the PINK entries this week before the year ends! Hope to see you too!

    My PINK
    Happy New Year!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

