Home > CHRISTMAS, EVENTS > Yes! It IS early, but not too early to mark your fall calendar: ‘A Christmas Tea For Lucas’

Yes! It IS early, but not too early to mark your fall calendar: ‘A Christmas Tea For Lucas’

An old-fashioned giftgiver peeks out from beneath sparkly, twining ribbon streamers...Yes, it's a bit early for him to make a full appearance yet, but not too early to mark your Fall calendar for a very special event! Read on...

Merry Greetings, Everyone!

Today, I’m offering you a steaming, spicy cuppa in anticipation of a very special event…

Just as in February my thoughts turn to the garden, it is about this time of year that I seem to start thinking of the countdown to the approaching festive season! Yes, it IS early yet, but I know that many of you about now are beginning to pick up a Christmas gift or two here and there.  And, many more of you crafters are starting to creatively plan… 🙂  Isn’t it hard to imagine there is so little time left to the summer. Sigh!

Just last week, I visited my new-found and dear friend Carolyn on beautiful Prince Edward Island. It was an amazing trip! Carolyn and I had only ‘met’ before through blogging. It seems we have many interests in common – one of which is gardening. Gardens can be very healing and, at the same time, inspiring. I thought Carolyn’s gardens should be shared, and so I wrote to three of my favourite magazines and encouraged them to feature Carolyn’s garden on their pages. Thus far, two of these publications have agreed to do just that!  In fact, Carolyn’s ‘story’ is currently being featured in “The Feminine Home – Where The Heart Is”  A second, popular Canadian gardening magazine, contacted me while I was on Prince Edward Island visiting Carolyn to tell me that they plan to visit Carolyn at her home on Prince Edward Island next summer! My fingers are crossed that the third publication will also share my enthusiasm…As you would expect, Carolyn is just thrilled, and I cannot begin to tell you how thrilled I am for her!

Tea, no matter what the flavour, always tastes delicious when brewed in a beautiful teapot, doesn't it?!

Carolyn and I had never met face-to-face; and so, I travelled from my Island to her Island for the sole purpose of meeting Carolyn and experiencing firsthand her outstanding five acres of amazing lush, green gardens!  We shared over tea and Carolyn’s fabulous whole wheat-and-raisin scones and peach crumble pie..YUMMY!  She is a most gracious and giving host. We have since become true friends.

Watch for a series of blog posts on Carolyn’s glorious home & gardens coming soon!  You’re in for a real treat, my friends…

An antique photo of 'Angel Awake' (a late 1800's print by M.B. Parkinson) inside an oval convex glass and tin frame mysteriously appears every year in our hallway around the holiday season...Isn't she lovely adorned with feathers, fresh cedar, gold-dipped pinecones and twirling ribbons?!

Carolyn and her husband, Andrew, have been blessed with seven children and nine grandchildren. Their sweet little grandson Lucas was diagnosed with Muscular Dystrophy at just two years of age. Lucas is now seven years old and, in September, begins his participation in a new drug trial with great hopes of slowing this terrible, debilitating disease. The study requires that his mom (Carolyn’s daughter Jen), travel with him to Montreal once a week for the following 52 weeks. As you can imagine, apart from the emotional and physical stress, there is the financial hardship. Jen will have to give up her day job working with an autistic little girl to accompany Lucas on his weekly trips to Montreal and back home to Prince Edward Island.

And, this brings me to the reason for this very special post…I will be hosting ‘A Christmas Tea for Lucas’ as a fundraiser in support. It promises to be a beautiful, memorable afternoon; and I do hope you will be my guest! Although it is early yet, I hope you will mark your calendar in anticipation!

A sweet Santa and my treasured 'Holly and Ivy' teapot are perched on a footed glass cake plate inside a circle of greens and pinecones that grace the tabletop in the kitchen nook. A gold and glittery cedar tree potted in a black Grecian-style urn 'looks' on from the background...

Tea Date Changed to Sunday, December 11th, 2011

As long as we know in our hearts what Christmas ought to be, Christmas is.   Eric Sevareid

Christmas hath a beauty … lovelier than the world can show.  Christina G. Rossetti

Don't these merry gents make you feel all cozy and warm inside?! My friend Jean lovingly handcrafted these cheery figures that sit atop the mantel every year at Christmastime.

And, if you don’t happen to live near and cannot come for tea, then perhaps this post might inspire a fellow blogger or two who, like me, are devoted followers of Carolyn’s outstanding blog to host your own tea, no matter how small or large, in support of someone you love.  This is my “Thank You Kiss” to Carolyn for sharing her home and gardens with us almost daily and lifting us up each time we visit with her…MUAAAH!  

Hint:  For those of you who don’t already know of Carolyn’s blog, I will reveal her address in a post very soon, so you will have to patient until then…:-) 

Before you know it, the time will have flown and my doorbell will be jinglin’, ring ting tinglin’ to and friends will be callin’ “you-who”… Now that this tune is probably in your head, you might as well sing along to the lyrics!   “There’s a Christmas party at the home of Farmer Fred.  It will be the perfect ending of a perfect day.  It’ll nearly be like a picture print by Courier and Ives.  These wonderful things are the things we remember all through our lives.”  I just couldn’t resist!

I’ll be sure to send you a little reminder as ‘Tea Time’ approaches, and also share the photos with you cause I know how you all love to see those…


Christmas countdown banner

 

 

 
Wishing you a beautiful day and dreams filled with only the fattest – but not fattening – sugarplums!  Now that really would be a ‘dream world’ wouldn’t it?! Fa la la la la,  la la la la 🙂

Cheers,

Linda

Categories: CHRISTMAS, EVENTS
  1. 2011/08/19 at 11:09 pm

    I found your blog a week or so ago and it’s just wonderful! Thank you for sharing beautiful ideas (great name for a blog btw) with your readers. There’s so much that’s not beautiful in life so it’s truly wonderful to find someone who wants to share beauty with us.

    I’ve added you to my blog list and plan to enjoy more visits to Beautiful Ideas.

    Sandra

  2. 2011/08/20 at 11:41 am

    Good morning Linda,

    I’m so glad you and Carolyn met and enjoyed each other’s company. She is a lovely soul and that is quite evident by her gardens and home. Having a special tea for her grandson is such a lovely thing to do. Would love to join you but living on PEI makes that difficult. As always, I’ve enjoyed my visit. Wishing you a delightful day.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    • 2011/10/25 at 6:17 pm

      Hi Sandi,

      I so wish that you and Sandra (comment above) could be here for “A Christmas Tea for Lucas”. I have a feeling that it is going to be a very special afternoon…Won’t you join us in spirit on that afternoon and share a cuppa?!

      Hugs,
      Linda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

