Home > CHRISTMAS > Celebrating the Twelfth Day of Christmas!

Celebrating the Twelfth Day of Christmas!

IMG_0604

IMG_1149

 On the twelfth day of Christmas, my true love sent to me…

IMG_1155

I wish we could put up some of the Christmas spirit in jars and open a jar of it every month. ~Harlan Miller

IMG_0934

Dear Friends,

Happy New Year to you all! My wish for you is good health, peace, friendship, love and many joy-filled moments in the coming year.

IMG_1038It’s early Monday and it is a quiet, Christmas card kind of morning with the snow falling and twirling to the ground like teeny feathers from heaven. Peaceful.

IMG_1150

For those living on many parts of our island, it’s a snow day for the children as schools are closed, or at least for the morning. Not here, though.  This beautiful scene won’t last long as the temperature is expected to climb to an unseasonable 11 degrees Celsius with rain, so all this fluffy snow will soon be washed away.  (I love this Bethany Lowe figure. Isn’t it precious?)

IMG_1044

Although I miss my garden at this time of year, the view is still beautiful, even from the kitchen sink!

IMG_1033
Who says rabbits are just for Easter?

IMG_0341

I’ve just made the bed (I like to dress the beds for Christmas) and am about to brew a hot cuppa.

IMG_1163

The house is so warm and welcoming at this time of year, so I am still enjoying. You can never have too many cozy pillows!

IMG_1158

A collection of hand painted Santas still sit on the dresser in the master bedroom.

IMG_1156

IMG_0368

I am still listening to holiday music and sipping tea by the glow of the tree lights. I am loving this quiet hour. Hubby has left for work already and I am on vacation today (back to work tomorrow).

IMG_1145

I thought I would use the day to dismantle some of the decorations but on, second thought, I think I will enjoy them for the rest of this week and instead read some favourite magazines, be inspired and take some photos, something I haven’t had a chance to do all season.

IMG_0736

Maybe I’ll call up an old friend and invite her for tea. Pink transferware is wonderful at any time of year but especially during the holidays.

IMG_0732

IMG_1057

I really like the Christmassy colours of this pattern.

IMG_0735

I know that many of you share a love for it.

IMG_1060

This is a nook in our petite kitchen/dining room. I love the sparkle! The house seems to say, “I’m happy!” and I want to share that. I hope it’s not too late.

IMG_1061

Well, Old Christmas Day is tomorrow, so I won’t leave it too long before I post some more images. Where did 2014 go?!

IMG_1096

I think I’ll start in the living room…

IMG_1072

The reflection of the lights of the Christmas trees in a framed print gives a magical feel to the room. Here are a few sneak peeks…

IMG_0933

IMG_0602
The top of a Christmas tree…
IMG_0599
At the base of the tree…
IMG_0606
Special ornaments and a vignette under glass…
IMG_0589
Many thanks to Kerryanne for featuring my last post, Gingerbread Dreams, on her fun blog party Shabbilicous Friday! It was very sweet of you!  By the way, you might be interested to know that I gave that gingerbread house away but Santa brought me my very own gingerbread house! YES!
IMG_0716
The buffet/dresser in a kitchen nook is home to a fabulous smelling gingerbread display! (I tipped a little too far to the right when I snapped this one! Lol) Can you see the teeny footprints leading up to the front door of the gingerbread house. My friend Jindra is just amazing! APPLAUSE!
IMG_0698
I can’t thank her enough.  I’ve always wanted one for my own and she has made me a very happy girl, indeed! I get so much pleasure from looking at her creation.
IMG_0702
Look at that front door with the chevron wood-like pattern and pretty little wreath! You have to just admire her skill at detail! LOVE!
IMG_0709
It just makes my heart and feet dance together at the sight!  I hope it makes you happy  to see it, too.  I will probably be looking at this in my kitchen for a long time yet. I am very reluctant to put it away for another year. There are no ‘rules’ when to take down your holiday decor and if it makes you happy, then why not leave it for awhile longer! Celebrate Christmas every day, if you want – at least in your heart, that’s what matters. I love the spirit of the season and don’t mind one bit if it lingers awhile more.
IMG_0707
Oh, here comes the rain already! I’m glad I got those photos from the kitchen window when I did! This is the only snowman here today, on the kitchen table…
IMG_0995
I hope you’ll visit again soon! Thank you all for the very lovely comments last time.  I am always so excited to see your kind notes in my mailbox.
Wishing you a beautiful start to a brand new week,
Linda 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. 2015/01/05 at 11:46 am

    What an amazing lot of beautiful pictures of your home. I don’t blame you for wanting to keep the things up and out a while longer. Happy new year to you!

  2. Bonnie Schulte
    2015/01/05 at 12:57 pm

    Your photos are wonderful, and I loved them. Your buffet/dresser in your kitchen is a treat to see, you have items arranged so perfectly. How I wish I had room for a piece of furniture like yours in my kitchen, or anywhere in my tiny home. Many of my collections of Father Christmas, and snowmen stay packed away, as there is not enough room to display them all, therefore, making looking at yours even more special to me. Thank you for taking the time to share with those of us, who are lucky enough to have found your blog. Happy 2015 to you and your family. Love from cold -32 windchill, snowy white WI.

  3. 2015/01/05 at 1:32 pm

    Happy New Year, Linda! Your post is so magical and I love that you still have your decorations up. Your pillows are darling and I too love the rabbits any time of year. I am still in awe over the gingerbread house! Makes one feel like a little girl again looking at it. I took my tree down a week ago which is the earliest I have ever done so. Now I know why, and I’m so glad I did for I wouldn’t have found the time or energy to do it later. I’m so happy you have joined me for Tea Time today and I hope you have a wonderful and joy filled 2015.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

  4. 2015/01/05 at 1:44 pm

    Magical holiday images. Your red transferware is lovely. Any time of year is a good time for rabbits. 🙂 I smiled when I saw the gingerbread house! Happy New Year!

  5. Judith @ Lavender Cottage
    2015/01/06 at 9:36 am

    Thanks for creating a mosaic to share the holiday decor at your home. You’ve collected so many delightful pieces and have displayed them quite nicely.
    Thank you for participating in Mosaic Monday – please link back to the party so others reading your blog can share the fun too.

  6. 2015/01/06 at 12:48 pm

    Hello, I found you on Tuesdays at our home. Your decorating is just out of this world gorgeous! So many inspiring ideas! I am your newest follower!
    Happy New Year!
    Gina at Victorian Wanna Be

  7. 2015/01/06 at 2:09 pm

    Linda, first I want to thank you for visiting my blog and leaving the nice comment. I’m glad you did, for it brought me here to your stunning Beautiful Ideas. Oh my goodness! Your photographs are wonderful, your home is beautiful. I’ve been exploring your blog, and enjoying it all so much. I have something I want to ask you, and so I’ll send you an email.
    Have a great day! ~ Nancy

  8. 2015/01/06 at 10:09 pm

    What lovely Christmas photos. I especially enjoyed the transferware tea set and the gingerbread house!

  9. 2015/01/07 at 7:11 am

    Such lovely photos to look at! Gives a warm vibe which is nice as I feel cold =)

    Dropping by from http://pixiedusk.livejournal.com/331092.html

  10. 2015/01/07 at 2:08 pm

    Beautiful decorations. I can see why they make you feel so happy.

  11. 2015/01/07 at 6:28 pm

    Always nice to find someone else who celebrates for the 12 days of Christmas! Your photos are beautiful and capture the serene and peaceful feeling of this time of year.

  12. 2015/01/08 at 12:03 am

    Such beautiful red transferware. I just adore it. I loved seeing your photos. So glad you shared at Friends Sharing Tea!

  13. Paula Tessier
    2015/01/09 at 9:22 am

    Well that’s it, I’m spoiled for gingerbread houses now forever! I want to live in yours. And yes, leave Christmas up as long as you like, that kind of beautiful magic deserves to linger…

  14. 2015/01/10 at 1:58 am

    Love your red transferware and those gingerbread houses and cookies are gorgeous! Thanks so much for sharing at AMAZE ME MONDAY.
    Blessings,
    Cindy

  15. 2015/01/10 at 10:14 pm

    Your photos are gorgeous! Thanks so much for sharing this beautiful post.

  16. 2015/01/11 at 2:54 pm

    Yes, we could need some Christmas magic the next few months. Now I am packing away all the decorations…
    Beautiful transferware 🙂

  17. katelaineransom
    2015/01/12 at 1:29 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous, Linda – I would let Christmas linger too and would love to join you for some tea – beautiful post – I will be featuring your post in this week’s A Return to Loveliness,
    Kathy

  18. Jann Olson
    2015/01/13 at 2:13 am

    Simply gorgeous, Linda! I miss my garden this time of year, but like you say; the snow is beautiful. Snowing outside now as I am typing. Your décor is so cozy and inviting. Don’t blame you for letting it linger a little longer. I collect the transferware as well. Seeing yours made my heart skip a beat! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  19. 2015/01/14 at 2:15 pm

    Your Christmas decorations are beautiful. I, too, hate taking them down and, in fact, just took mine down this week! Thank you for sharing at What We Accomplished Wednesdays. Happy New Year!
    Blessings, Deborah

  20. 2015/01/14 at 8:24 pm

    Linda, I just love how you decorate for Christmas! Gorgeous!!

  21. Mary Shaw
    2015/11/03 at 8:24 am

    Hello
    I love the pages on your website! No news recently though, and I miss your warm pictures and words….
    Don’t you blogg any longer? Please reply

    Mary Shaw, Norway

    • 2015/11/03 at 10:59 am

      Hello, Mary!
      You’re very kind to say. I miss blogging, too. Life has been so busy this year that I haven’t found time to blog. Christmas is my favourite time of year, and I just love to share decorating and experiences so I will be back soon. I’m very much looking forward to a much-needed vacation shortly – a trip to Europe (Hungary, Austria, Germany and Czech Republic), a river cruise down the Danube touring the European Christmas Markets along the way! It’s something that has been on my bucket list for over 30 years and I can’t wait! I’ll certainly have lots of photos to share after that! Thanks again for your lovely comment and visits! I really appreciate it.
      Hugs,
      Linda

      • Mary Shaw
        2015/11/05 at 5:10 pm

        Thank you for replying – have a nice trip! I look forward to new blogs. If you are in Norway ever , maybe it’s your turn for a cup of tea, you are welcome!

      • 2015/11/05 at 6:05 pm

        Thank you, Mary! I would love to visit Norway one day!

  1. 2015/01/12 at 1:31 pm

Leave a Reply

