Home > CHRISTMAS > The Gift of Christmas! Sanselig Jul…

The Gift of Christmas! Sanselig Jul…

Sanselig Jul:  A Christmas For All The Senses

by Franciska Munck-Johansen

Dearest Friends,

Something very special sits on my desk this evening. A glorious feast – for the eyes! An exquisite holiday idea book has arrived all the way from Norway.  A true ‘Work of Heart’ by talented Norwegian Franciska Munck-Johansen – author/stylist/photographer!  Bubbling with excitement, like a child on Christmas morning, I can barely contain myself as I turn each smooth, glossy perfect page.

My cup of amber tea has long gone cold.  My husband took it away to pour me another.  🙂 I barely noticed…I am happily preoccupied. Mesmerized. My eyes pour over each and every lustrous sheet of gorgeous photos.  I am wearing a big grin on my face.  Searching for something which is very thrilling to me.   Photos of  the exterior of our own home dressed for the holidays  in simple, natural cedar garlands and balsam fir wreaths.  Pages 44-45.  I can hardly believe my eyes!

Isn’t this an outstanding cover photo (below) that Franciska has chosen for her new book? (My friend Jean made the Santa – isn’t he handsome in his Nordic style ski wear?)

P1050443

P1050460

Franciska’s book is written in Norwegian, but a picture does speaks a thousand words and the language of photos is certainly universal.  Beautiful and inspiring!  The photo on the left is of our garden gate (although it is not red anymore) and here is what the caption under it reads:

Jingle Bells, Jingle Bells
It’s almost so you can hear Christmas carols and expect to see Rudolph and
the rest of the gang behind this garden gate. Canadian Linda Ryan, author of  the blog “Beautiful Ideas”, loves Christmas and has photographed these lovely images in her garden. She uses evergreens to decorate around the garden in flower boxes, on doors, around the outside lights… The front door of her home is a wonderful portal decorated with fresh cedar and long ribbons. 
https://beautifulideas.wordpress.com
 

It does not surprise me that my dear friend Carolyn from the enchanting ‘Island of Anne’ is in the book, too. Carolyn is amassing a library of publications featuring her stunning home and gardens.  Here she writes about being featured in Franciska’s “Sanselig Jul”:  Aiken Home and Garden

P1050453

A third North American featured in the book is Sandy Foster, author of the blog ‘My Shabby Streamside Studio’.  Sandy lives in New York (my husband and I are not long home from eight glorious days in NYC, something that has been on my bucket list for a very long time – more about that soon)….You’ll love Sandy’s dreamy, marshmallowy photos.  Sandy has been a guest on the Nate Berkus Show and is included in his newest book.  You can visit Sandy at her blog here:  My Shabby Streamside Studio.  Here are some pictures of Sandy’s feature in Sanselig Jul.

P1050449

Franciska’s book is a magical Christmas treasury.    The stuff  of dreams.  I am thrilled to have it in my special collection of beautiful holiday books.  Even more so to be included in it!  Surreal.  Franciska  is a beauty  – inside and out.  Her first-class work is featured in many interiors magazines in Europe and beyond. Swoonworthy, indeed.  Her passion for all that she does shines through in her every one of  her photos.  Her warmth and charm of personality emanates from the pages of “Sanselig Jul”.  Here is beautiful photo of Franciska.

P1050444

You can purchase Francsika’s book (here) .

My first ‘meeting’ with Franciska was in summer 2011.  She shared my blog post (Waiting for Springtime) on her own blog .  It touched her heart and made me glad that she felt my story  was worth sharing, that it might inspire others to do something nice for someone in need.   We all can use a supportive ‘hug’ sometimes, can’t we…

Last year, Franciska sent me as a gift a copy of her first book, “Sanselig Sommer”, which translated into English means “Summer for All the Senses”.  It, too, is jam-packed with wonderful photos and ideas that can be easily adapted for the home, garden and inspired living. It’s such quality that I am honoured to be included in anything that Franciska does!

Can I tell you a secret? I have always dreamed of writing my own Christmas book one day.  Shhh….But I never dreamed for a single moment, that I would be included in a book by such a recognized European artist as Franciska!   How life sometimes presents the unexpected!  Blogland has been a portal to so many opportunities this past year that would not have been possible otherwise.

Each year, in the month leading up to Christmas, I gather up all my holiday books in a basket and look through one or two every day for inspiration. It’s exciting to think that Sanselig Jul, in which our own home is featured, will become part of that collection and tradition!  My deepest gratitude, Franciska, for your warm embrace.   It is an incredible honour for me…What a wonderful Gift of Christmas!  Happy Holidays to you and yours, dear friend.

Thank you everyone for visiting today.  I hope you will come back soon for some holiday photos of my first adventure in New York City…

Wishing you a beautiful week ahead,

Linda

I am delighted to be joining Show and Tell Friday, Open House, Home Sweet Home, Vintage Inspiration, Teatime Tuesday, Wow Us Wednesday, Feathered Nest Friday, Holiday Home Tour, Jennifer at Traditions and Cottage Magpie.

  1. 2012/12/16 at 10:42 pm

    Hi Linda,
    That is a lovely feature of Franciska’s beautiful book. I, too was very honored to be included in it.
    Happy to hear you had a wonderful trip and look forward to pics.
    Take care,
    Carolyn

  2. 2012/12/17 at 4:35 am

    Thank you so much, Linda, for your sweet and heartfelt words! 🙂 I am so glad I have had the chance to get in touch with such a fantastic person as yourself! 🙂 Life is good, when you have good people in it! 🙂

    Have a wonderful Christmas! Big hug, Franciska 🙂

  3. ehickey
    2012/12/17 at 9:36 am

    Congratulations, GO GIRL!!!

  4. 2012/12/17 at 10:52 am

    Incredible, just like you! Congratulations. (Looking forward to hearing about your trip!)
    XO Tamara

  5. 2012/12/17 at 2:36 pm

    My tea would have gone cold, too! What a marvelous book — full of dreams … perfect for this time of year — anytime of year!

  6. 2012/12/17 at 2:51 pm

    A beautiful book, I can see why you have savoured each and every page. I saw Carolyn’s post about her inclusion and offer you congratulations for yours as well.
    Judith

  7. 2012/12/17 at 5:28 pm

    That is a gorgeous book. What an honour for you and others to be included!

  8. 2012/12/17 at 6:31 pm

    Hi Linda,
    Congratulations on your feature! How exciting! The pictures are gorgeous and like Carolyn, you go all out decorating for the season. Absolutely wonderful, my friend. Thank you for sharing your good news with us. Wishing you and your loved ones a lovely Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Christmas blessings,
    Sandi

  9. 2012/12/17 at 6:35 pm

    Congratulations, Linda! What an honor, and what a beautiful book!

  10. Pam
    2012/12/17 at 10:11 pm

    Hi, I am glad your lovely home and Carolyn’s is included in such a fabulous book! The photos are lovely and I appreciated your translation. The winter scene with the cedar garland is perfect! I am including a blog named Chez Larsson, for this book would be one she might enjoy and I thought you might enjoy and a peek at her blog! Thanks for sharing the information!

    Thanks, Pam

  11. Helena
    2012/12/19 at 11:53 am

    I am so impressed. I would like to order two and give them to Ashley and Vicki for Christmas next year, as their great grandfather was born in Norway and Keith still has relatives there. They would be so impressed that their auntie is featured in such a beautiful book. Hope your trip to NY was fabulous, someday maybe Keith and I will join you. You know how much I miss my Newfoundland Christmas!!! Love you….talk soon.

  12. 2012/12/22 at 6:16 am

    Happy Holidays! Lovely and Christmassy 🙂 The book looks amazing! Seasons Greetings from Australia♥ ~Pernilla

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment