Home > TEA LOVE, TRAVEL > The Elegant Empress

The Elegant Empress

P1140578IMG_3209

Welcome, Dear Friends!

I am thankful you are here on this wintry day and I hope that your week went well.  Isn’t it hard to believe that February is here! What a hectic month January was.  I am relieved to finally be able to make time to cocoon a little with some of my most favourite magazines.

P1140398 P1140399 P1140439 P1140440 P1140441 P1140442 P1140445

Isn’t “Victoria” absolutely stunning? It is an all-time favourite  of mine published by Hoffman Media.  I have every issue since it was first published in the eighties and am thrilled to my toes that a humble little story of mine will be featured in the Chimes section of their March/April issue!!! Can you believe that?!!!  It is beyond a dream come true for me!!! Thank you, “Victoria!” I can’t wait…

I just read Tea Time Magazine , another favourite and also published by Hoffman Media.  Tea Time will be hosting “An Occasion for Tea” at The Empress in Victoria, B.C. next weekend!  Don’t you wish you could join in the fun!

While the kettle is on, would you like to join me in a little armchair travel?  For those of you who follow my blog, you might recall I mentioned in an earlier post (Majestic Hatley Park) that my husband and I had travelled across the country from Newfoundland on Canada’s east coast to beautiful Vancouver Island, British Columbia on the west coast a couple of years ago where  I attended a work conference at Victoria’s Fairmont Empress Hotel. For years, I had been reading about Afternoon Tea at The Empress and was excited to finally have the opportunity to experience it for myself!

Located in downtown Victoria, “The Empress”, as she is affectionately called, overlooks picturesque Victoria Inner Harbour.  The Empress is the best known landmark in the capital city and has hosted kings and queens, dignitaries and famous persons.  The likes of Bob Hope, Bing Crosby, Katherine Hepburn, Shirley Temple, Barbara Streisand, to name a few, have all stayed at ‘The Elegant Empress’.

IMG_3191

Just steps outside the hotel lobby you’ll find whale watching, gardens, castles and sight-seeing tours, shops, boutiques and restaurants, the Royal  BC Museum, provincial legislative buildings and National Geographic IMAX Theatre.  Within a short walk, you’ll discover Chinatown and Antique Row. The BC Ferries terminal is a 45-minute drive from downtown and a 35-minute ferry ride will take you to glorious Salt Spring Island. Go there on a Saturday for the artisan markets.

IMG_3189On the afternoon of our arrival in Victoria, there were crowds of people milling about under huge white tents on the hotel’s front lawn.  We were zealously informed by our cab driver that it was rumoured that composer/star-maker David Foster was hosting a benefit dinner at $10,000 a place. Pittance!  Lol

IMG_2425

PHOTO:  Looking  from the harbour side toward The Empress, there are vendor tables, ferry tours, foods for every taste, buskers, recreational activities – it’s all here, mere steps from the hotel in downtown Victoria.

After a 14-hour plane-haul from the opposite side of the country to finally arrive at our destination, I felt terribly dishevelled.  As we walked into the hotel lobby with our luggage in tow, we were met by a sea of women in the most glamourous ball gowns and eye-catching jewels that I had ever seen! Dolls in diamonds, curls and heels.  Suffering from lack of sleep,  jet lag and feeling a little dizzy from dehydration, for one fleeting moment I thought that they could have been mermaids straight from the harbour outside!  A mirage of sheer glamour. In the following hours and days during our stay, we heard the names of many stars who were reportedly staying at the hotel.  A few of my colleagues who were also attending the conference at the hotel, caught glimpses of famous stars here and there (I could tell a story or two).  But the biggest star in my mind was ‘The Elegant Empress’ herself! She Em-pressed me most. 🙂

IMG_2467

IMG_3212

IMG_2424

Photo:  Victoria Inner Harbour is just steps across the street from The Empress.

DID YOU KNOW?  The ceremony of Afternoon Tea at The Empress is over a century-old tradition and her Tea lobby is world famous.  Reportedly, in summer at the height of the tourist season, The Empress serves Afternoon Tea to more guests than most hotels in London, England! Can you imagine! That is Em-pressive, don’t you think! 🙂

IMG_2690

DID YOU KNOW?  The Empress had been owned by the Canadian Pacific Railway long before it was sold to Fairmont.  Back in ‘the day’, CPR was building hotels for customers who travelled its railway and ships. Through the years, during and following two world wars, there were business booms and slumps.  In the mid-1960’s, The Empress was being considered for demolition. After much public outcry, the decision was made not to tear down the deteriorating old hotel but to give it a cosmetic facelift. Later in 1989, it was “done right” and the iconic building was restored in a major way to its original splendour. Thankfully, for The Empress = Victoria as surely as Big Ben = London, the Eiffel Tower = Paris, or the Statue of Liberty = New York City. The big refurbishment was dubbed “Operation Teacup!”  Let’s go into the Tea Lobby and see how ‘they’ did, shall we?

IMG_2692

Royalty and ordinary folk alike have enjoyed the time-honoured tradition of Afternoon Tea in the famous Tea Lobby. Art and architecture.  Deep and comfy chairs and luxe upholstery fabrics.  Fancy-carved tables and vintage tea carts. Antique tapestries and patterned wool rugs. Breathtaking views, exquisite tea and silver tea sets.  Live piano music. Good company and lively conversation… All combine to create a memorable tea experience one soon won’t forget.

IMG_2687

IMG_2689On the tea menu are signature Empress scones, pastries, sweets and savouries expertly and freshly prepared in-house each day.  I wish I had gotten a photo of the carts and delectable desserts piled high on hundreds of multi-tiered trays but I was sheepish about snapping pictures of the food… Lol

IMG_2686

“There are few hours in life more agreeable than the ceremony known as afternoon tea”
― Henry James

IMG_2688PHOTO:  Waiting for tea to be served in a silver service and regal blue-and-red-and-gold William Edwards fine china…  William Edwards has been commissioned to create patterns for His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales and The Royal Household.  If it’s good enough for the Royals, then it’s good enough for moi!  Click here for an extensive Afternoon Tea Menu

DID YOU KNOW? The Empress has her own delicious blend of tea, touted as one of the world’s finest and I surely believe it! What an absolutely gorgeous, tasty, subtle cuppa!  After having umpteen delicious cups, I had to ask one of our servers what that blend was!  I was thrilled to learn that it was specially created for Afternoon Tea at The Empress and that it could be purchased at the hotel’s gift shop, where following Tea, I went straight away!  In the hotel’s signature Tea Shoppe, I loaded up on the pretty canisters of tea along with some teaware stamped with ‘The Empress’ to tuck into my suitcase for the trip home and so I could ‘relive’ the experience whenever I wanted .

Here are the blend ingredients as written on the tea canister:  Top seasonal quality tea from Kenya, South India, Assam, Sri Lanka and China.  Here’s what it looks like in the cup. YUM!  No cream or sugar needed…

P1140445

The bottom of the canister reads:  “Since its opening on January 20, 1908, The Empress has respected one of Victoria’s greatest traditions by serving Afternoon Tea in the magnificent lobby of the hotel. Sitting under a portrait of Queen Mary in front of the Tea Lobby’s two fireplaces, one can view Victoria’s Inner Harbour where the “Thermopylae”, fastest of all the Tea Clipper Ships, once anchored.”

P1140578

I am down to my last canister (apart from one that I am saving for a dear friend). Sigh. I am excited to know, though, that it can be ordered from the hotel shop or at http://www.fairmontstore.com.IMG_2493

PHOTO:  During  ‘Operation Teacup’, the Tiffany-style stained glass ceiling of the Palm Court was uncovered behind wood.  The beauty of the roof was thankfully restored and guests now can enjoy its sparkling light on the marble foyer at weddings and special functions.

IMG_3196

PHOTO:  Victoria’s Parliament buildings look beautiful at night from Fisherman’s Wharf. Their silhouette outlined in white lights creates a magical effect as the evening ‘blue hour’ approaches…

IMG_3205

PHOTO:  Captain James Cook (1728-1779) stands forever bronzed in confidence along Government Street as he looks upon The Empress with his back to Victoria Inner Harbour.

IMG_3207

The inscription at the base of the statue reads:

“After two historic voyages to the South Pacific, Cook was cruising the waters of the Pacific Northwest on his third and final voyage with his two ships, Resolution and Discovery. He was searching for the Western exit to the legendary Northwest Passage. In March 1778, they put into Nootka Sound for repairs and to trade with the native people. With him on the voyage were Mr. William Bligh as Master of the Resolution and Midshipman George Vancouver.”

The Empress is synonymous with Victoria.  Many say “she” is the city’s heartbeat and speculate that The Empress is what brings people to the Island.  One thing is for certain, residents have an emotional attachment to The Empress.  For many, she holds special memories of their most celebrated occasions in life. Vancouver Island with its resplendent beauty and relaxed pace, yet vibrant energy, is an ideal place to escape. We loved it!

The photos below were taken of some of the “Bling” displayed in the windows of the gift shops at The Empress.

IMG_3227 IMG_3226 IMG_3225

The well-kept grounds of The Elegant Empress are captured below:

IMG_2721 IMG_2720 IMG_2719

IMG_2707

To complement its special tea blend, The Empress serves its own blend of wildflower honey harvested from the Chef’s own apiaries on the grounds.

IMG_2710

Jewel-tone irises abound in well-maintained flower beds. These photos can’t do them justice.

IMG_2716

Azaelas and rhododendrum trees abound.

IMG_2696

The Empress’ resident marmot likes to hang about on the grounds and entertain visitors!

IMG_2709 IMG_2708

EMPRESS TEA TRIVIA:
– Cream actually masks the flavor of tea, so milk is used instead.
– Amber Sugar crystals are also used, as they help to enhance the flavour of the tea, since it is an unprocessed form of sugar.
– All teas are loose, as the loose teas are the most flavorful.

It was fun ‘digging out’ these old photos and reminiscing…I hope you enjoyed your visit! Before you go, I’ll pour you up another tea in one of my prized cups – this one was given to me by my cousin Eva. It was shipped all the way from Virgina Beach in the United States to Newfoundland, Canada!  It is a souvenir cup of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. Thank you, Eva!

P1140400

My friend Eric gifted me the glorious white china teapot with creamer and sugar bowl and half a dozen matching teacups!  I just adore it.  It sits on my kitchen counter and I use it every chance I get! My friend Maria created these beautiful and delicious snowflake cookies, perfect for snowy days! Thank you all! 🙂

Wishing you a beautiful new week ahead,

Linda

P1140478

P1140529P1140442P1140443

I am happy to be joining the party at Inspirational Monday, Make it Pretty Monday, Tea Time at Rose Chintz CottageTea Time Tuesday and Friends Sharing Tea, Teacup TuesdayThe ScoopInspire Me Tuesday, Wordless Wednesday, What We Accomplished Wednesday, WoW Us WednesdayWholehearted Wednesday, What’s It Wednesday, Blissful Whites Wednesday, Cottage Style Party, Time Travel Thursday, Thursday Favourite ThingsHome and Garden Thursday, Share Your Cup ThursdayThe Homemaking PartySimple and Sweet Fridays, Fridays UnfoldedShow and Tell FridayFeathered Nest Friday, Anything Blue Friday,  The Charm of HomeFabulously Creative Friday, Frugal FridayShabbylicious Friday, Be Inspired, Tickled PinkWhat To Do WeekendsPink Saturday, Bouquet of TalentShow Off Saturday, One More Time SundaySeasonal Sundays and Oh The Places I’ve Been.

  1. Pondside
    2014/02/01 at 10:42 pm

    I’m so glad you loved our beautiful city. I see the Empress every day, as I work a few steps away. Taking tea is a popular pastime in Victoria, and everyone has been to the Empress, and everyone has their favourite place.
    Today three other bloggers and I visited The White Heather – my particular favourite, and one of the best-kept secrets in town.
    Did you visit the Willow Stream Spa? It’s such a treat!

    • 2014/02/01 at 10:58 pm

      Thanks for stopping in 🙂 Oh, I wish I had experienced the spa! There was just so much to see and do and we didn’t want to miss a thing. The weather was wonderful and we toured as many glorious gardens as we could. Next time, I’ll remember to try the spa… 🙂

  2. 2014/02/01 at 11:39 pm

    Oh my goodness! The Empress is the epitome of gorgeous. What a dreamy place.
    Your photos are stunning, too!
    Thanks so much for sharing, Linda.

  3. 2014/02/02 at 11:13 pm

    What an amazing place! This must be put on the bucket list.
    Alma, the Tablescaper

  4. 2014/02/03 at 2:59 pm

    Hi Linda,

    We loved your post so much we had to share it on our Facebook page. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us!
    We would love to help replenish your Empress Tea stash – if you email us at emp.socialmedia@fairmont.com we will get your contact information and send some right out to you!
    We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

    Warm regards,
    The Fairmont Empress Team

  5. 2014/02/03 at 8:06 pm

    What a lovely posting and beautiful promotion of the Empress!
    I know they are very happy!

  6. 2014/02/03 at 10:52 pm

    I love the pattern on your china and teapot. It is elegant and classy.
    I have those issues of Victoria. I love looking through them.
    Visiting from the Dedicated House http://georgielee.blogspot.com

  7. 2014/02/04 at 11:58 am

    What a beautiful old hotel
    that Empress is
    Weren’t Victoria magazine
    and Downton Abbey just made
    for each other?
    And congratulations
    on your story being published.
    So exciting!
    Thank you for sharing
    all this loveliness
    at Fridays Unfolded!

    Alison
    Nancherrow

  8. 2014/02/04 at 11:57 pm

    I really enjoyed your post. Such gorgeous pictures and a lovely tour of the Empress.
    Both tea cups you share today are stunning designs. And your cookies look too pretty to eat….but I would give it a try : )
    Hugs,
    Terri

  9. 2014/02/05 at 9:52 am

    What a lovely city! It would be so much fun to visit. Love your tea setting and those beautiful cookies! Thank you for sharing at What We Accomplished Wednesdays. Have a lovely week! ~Deborah

  10. 2014/02/05 at 10:46 am

    Hello Linda,
    What a lovely post! My son lived in Victoria for one year and unfortunately we did not get out that year to visit. Then Christmas 2012, we went to Vancouver to spend the holidays with them. They were going to take us to Victoria but alas, we ran out of time. I may get there some day. Your photos of the Empress are stunning. What a treat to have tea there!
    Your tea set is very elegant and the snowflake cookies are gorgeous! Thank you for sharing and joining me for tea time.
    Blessings, Sandi

  11. 2014/02/05 at 4:00 pm

    I’ve been fortunate to visit The Empress Hotel in Victoria, and it is truly a beautiful place. Your images bring back all that I loved of my (all too short) time being there. Thank you, thank you!

  12. 2014/02/05 at 8:29 pm

    What a gorgeous place to visit. Your tea is just lovely in remembrance of it! I will feature it tomorrow at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  13. ehickey
    2014/02/06 at 11:46 am

    Just found this!! Wish I could write like you!

  14. 2014/02/06 at 9:01 pm

    Beautiful! Have a great week.
    Blessings, Martha

  15. 2014/02/06 at 9:47 pm

    Your blog and this post are just beautiful! I so enjoyed my visit here!
    Thanks for sharing on the Thursday blog hop!

  16. 2014/02/06 at 9:49 pm

    What a gorgeous hotel! The perfect place for tea. Your own tea photos are beautiful too. I love Victoria magazine too of course!

  17. 2014/02/07 at 10:48 am

    Thank you for the lovely tour. Victoria is a wonderful magazine to escape into. Congrats on having an article accepted for publication. A dream realized! So glad to find this lovely post at SYC. Hope to see you there again!

  18. 2014/02/08 at 11:51 am

    I would love to have tea there!
    Thanks for sharing, Laura

  19. 2014/02/08 at 5:56 pm

    Absolutley stunning…..loved all the photographs…thank you for sharing HPS
    Michelle

  20. 2014/02/09 at 8:39 am

    Elegant and welcoming!

  21. 2014/02/09 at 10:52 am

    I need some elegance in my life. Got to add tea time at the Empress onto my “bucket list.” Lovely photographs.
    JM Illinois
    U.S.A.

  22. 2014/02/11 at 12:39 am

    I feel very proper now with all this eye candy! Everything is beautiful, including the tea I didn’t know tea could be that amazing looking!

  23. 2014/02/11 at 4:25 am

    I am visiting from The Dedicated House and so enjoyed every minute of your lovely post. I’m now going to browse around the rest before I leave. 🙂

  24. 2014/02/12 at 1:59 am

    Such a beautiful post! I too love Victoria magazine. I have save a few, but that is impressive that you have all of them! Congrats on being featured in their upcoming issue. I will look forward to seeing the article. I am happy to say that I have been able to attend tea at the Empress. 10 or so years ago, myself and 5 friends attended the tulip festival in Seattle. We took a trip into Canada and attended the tea. It was simply delightful! Hope to do it again some day. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    Hugs,
    Jann

  25. 2014/02/18 at 2:52 am

    What a very beautiful adventure you had, Linda! It looks perfect in every way. Thank you so much for sharing it. Although I’ve been to the Empress we were not able to stay for tea. Love your photos!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment