Home > FAVOURITE THINGS, JARDINS > From Norway With Love…

From Norway With Love…

The beautiful cover of "Sanselig Sommer" - the best English translation would be "Summer for All the Senses..."

Hi, Friends!

It’s tea time…Today is an absolutely gorgeous day here  – the sun is still unseasonably warm and the breezes are very pleasant. There are only a few days left to summer. Sigh.

Officially, fall begins on September 23rd; but before it arrives on the calendar, I must tell you about a very special book – “Sanselig Sommer” by Franciska Munck-Johansen.

My friend Carolyn Aiken, whose home and gardens you toured in these last posts, was featured earlier this year in this beautiful book from Norway by the talented photographer and writer Franciska who writes for a number of international interiors magazines.  Ten large pages were devoted to Carolyn’s own verdant gardens.

“Sanselig Sommer” is available through Franciska’s beautiful blog. Although it is not available translated into English, the stunning photos speak a universal language of inspired beauty. I hope you will visit Franciska’s Beautiful World.

Franciska had asked if she could post on her blog my story about my dear neighbour Joanne and her legion of garden faeries who looked after my garden last year from June through September while I was doing other things – like undergoing chemotherapy treatments. I was more than happy to share as it was such a selfless and inspiring thing to do, and it meant so much.

As a thank you, Franciska generously sent me an autographed copy of her gorgeous book!   I was overjoyed to receive her gift and when it arrived in the post, it just made my day!  It was such a beautiful and thoughtful surprise!

You’ll find tons of ideas and recipes throughout its large pages.  I have gleamed some wonderful ideas already that I can’t wait to try! We could all use some more beauty around us, n’est ce pas?  Here are some (of my photos of Franciska’s) photos from her exquisite book that I am showing with Franciska’s kind permission.  Thank you again, Franciska!  And, thanks for dropping by everyone!  See you soon…

I love looking at this book! This is Carolyn's romantic garden tea...very book worthy!

Carolyn's fairytale tea under a canopy of airy white tulle and a candle chandelier...Ooh, those pretty pink peonies and delicate china!

Ten pages of Franciska’s book are devoted to Carolyn’s glorious gardens…

A wire settee awaits for thee...Are you looking for your hat, Carolyn?!

An English garden in Bath...another candle chandelier!

What a great wrap for a bouquet!

Love the open shelving...Sign says, "If you want breakfast in bed, sleep in the kitchen." Ya gotta love it! http://www.romantiskahem.blogspot.com

White is definitely whispering to me...

Rustic loveliness...

Glamorous thirst-quencher!

What a sweet way to give simple flowers! Don't they look so special in easy tissue wrap tied with twine?!

Some 'seat inspiration' from http://www.inspirationivitt.blogspot.com Hmm, I just might do something like this...

Categories: FAVOURITE THINGS, JARDINS
  1. 2011/09/21 at 9:08 pm

    Hi Linda,

    It is a beautiful book – I am so happy to have some of my photos in it and to also have a copy of it to enjoy. That was very kind of Francesca to send you an autographed copy.

    I am glad that you, too, are enjoying beautiful weather.

    Thank you very much for the kind words again.

    Take care,
    Carolyn

    • 2011/09/21 at 9:52 pm

      I wish that everyone could see it, Carolyn. It is most certainly a favourite in my collection. I often look through it, and it always brightens my day. Franciska is a very talented woman, as are you, my friend! Congrats to you both.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

