Home > INSPIRATIONS, JARDINS > AN ENCHANTED ISLAND GARDEN…Touring (Part I)

AN ENCHANTED ISLAND GARDEN…Touring (Part I)

Our England is a garden, and such gardens are not made
by singing: -“Oh, how beautiful!” and sitting in the shade.
~Rudyard Kipling, “The Glory of the Garden”

I purchased this pretty steeping vessel from a wonderful on-line 'Celebrity Teapot Auction' - a fundraiser for animals that I helped organize some years ago. The teapot is English by Price Brothers, circa 1900 and was gifted to the auction by Sheila Guy-Murphy (Sheila is an active contributor to our community and was awarded the Governor General's Award for Caring Canadians). Isn't it a beauty?! Don't you love the framed picture in the background - a real find at Winners just a short time ago! The colouring is very soft, and it appears as though you can almost reach out and touch the teacups...

Greetings, Dear Friends!

I am thrilled that you have returned for another visit and wish to welcome those of you who may be visiting for the first time. It IS wonderful to connect in this way, isn’t it?! How would you like your tea today? I am excited to be taking you on a tour today of  a beautiful garden later. You’re in for a glorious treat!

Half the interest of a garden is the constant exercise of the imagination.  ~Mrs. C.W. Earle, Pot-Pourri from a Surrey Garden, 1897

Ever since I can remember I have been drawn to gardens like a firefly to the light. Gardens, that is to say beautiful and thoughtful gardens, are made of inspiration, relaxation and rejuvenation all at once.  So having been through a tough year in terms of my  health, and on many days in terms of my spirit, I decided to visit my emerald-thumbed blogging friend, Carolyn Aiken, last week at her home and splendid gardens on gentle Prince Edward Island.

It seems Carolyn and I share many interests:  decorating, old china, antiquing, photography, baking, entertaining, a love of all things tea, the same magazines, and Christmas, as well as gardening.  It was an amazing trip and we had much to talk about!

Carolyn and I had only ever ‘met’ through blogging, and only in recent weeks just prior to my making the trip to her Island! Because we had been corresponding by email and had never met face-to-face, I travelled from my Island to her Island for the sole purpose of meeting Carolyn and experiencing firsthand her verdant gardens!

We have since become true friends.  In fact, I will be hosting ‘A Christmas Tea’ for Lucas in November as a fundraiser in support of her darling little grandson.

Half the interest of a garden is the constant exercise of the imagination.  ~Mrs. C.W. Earle, Pot-Pourri from a Surrey Garden, 1897

An elegant cast-iron Victorian chair awaits you in Carolyn's garden...

Carolyn generously shares her welcoming home and flowery gardens on her blog.  Indeed, her almost-daily posts always lift my spirits and transports me to a gentler era. She happily gives to her devoted readers ideas from which we can gleam beautiful ways to enhance our own homes and gardenscapes.

I thought Carolyn’s gardens should be shared with an even wider audience.  So, even before we had met in person, I wrote to two of my favourite magazines and nudged them to feature Carolyn’s garden on their glossy pages. Consequently, I am happy to say, both publications were inspired to do just that!  In fact, Carolyn’s ‘story’ is currently being featured in Jo-Anne Coletti’s “The Feminine Home – Where The Heart Is”. The second publication – a popular Canadian gardening magazine – emailed me at the very time I happened to be on Prince Edward Island to tell me that they are planing to visit Carolyn at her home in Summer 2012!  I was even more delighted to be able to give Carolyn that additional bit of good news during my visit with her!  As you would expect, Carolyn is just thrilled and I cannot begin to tell you how thrilled I am for her!

The greatest gift of the garden is the restoration of the five senses.  ~Hanna Rion

Carolyn's gardens rise up to meet you along the roadside! I walked along the quiet country road that leads to Carolyn's home. I just needed to breathe it all in, and I hadn't even reached the driveway yet!

My experience in spending time with Carolyn in her enchanted Island garden was as deep and rich as the red soil itself on Prince Edward Island. Carolyn’s garden is all-embracing, like Carolyn herself, and has true soul – it has HER soul. It is a place where you cannot ever mind being lost, rather only if you were to be found! Hmmm…I think ‘Anne Shirley’ of Green Gables may be rubbing off on me a little. LOL 🙂

I am delighted to be able to share with you my photos of Carolyn’s lush, wondrous gardens.  I find it difficult, however, to weed out just a few (I must have taken hundreds during my visits with her!). So, you may want to return for several more more visits in the coming days. As you look through them, I am certain that your senses will be delighted and your very soul will burst into bloom…

A stunning, well-constructed pergola by Carolyn's talented husband, Andrew, comes into close view. The garden feature is surrounded by an immaculately maintained carpet of green and flanked by hostas, astilbe, phlox...Climbing hydrangea vines compete to reach the top of this handsome structure.

Carolyn surrounds herself both in her home and garden with the treasures and things that she loves. There is hardly a divisible line between the interior rooms of her home that seemingly flow directly into the exterior garden rooms that she so expertly creates.

I have never had so many good ideas day after day as when I worked in the garden.  ~John Erskine

I hope you can drop by Carolyn’s outstanding blog at warrengrove.blogspot.com. In the meantime, take a peek at these photos I snapped while exploring Carolyn’s resplendent gardens on Prince Edward Island, which is aptly known as ‘Canada’s Green Province’.

I came home from Carolyn’s with a mountain of ideas to be transplanted. I believe you, too, will be inspired by this place filled with heart and pride that Carolyn calls home.  Enjoy The Tour:  Part I. 🙂

HINT:  If you’d like to see more detail, you can click on the pictures to enlarge them 🙂

"Are we there yet?! Are we there yet?!" It's hard to imagine that we haven't even reached the driveway to Carolyn's home!!! She and Andrew have planted much of the way along the country road that leads to their home.

Here we go now...

YAY! The driveway is in sight! Hubby has already reached the house. I wanted to stay behind and just take in the beautiful walk!

Views along the driveway leading to Carolyn and Andrew's front door...There is so much to soak in!

Carolyn's father's bike that I recall reading about in one of her posts...A meaningful way to add even more beauty and nostalgia to the garden.

The blue flat-bottomed boat that had belonged to a neighbour will be getting a make-over and is intended for the soon-to-be duck pond...

Walking past Carolyn's 'famous' garden shed...

Oooh! Can you stand the wait to see what's inside?! It had rained torrents earlier in the day and there was still a heavy mist over the garden. The gardens looked sooo pretty with all the plants holding big water droplets on their foliage...

Hubby waits for me to reach the rental car, so that we can walk together to Carolyn's front door. He knows how excited I am...

Carolyn's happy house is in sight! YIPPEE! 🙂

A hearty vine covers the arbour that leads to Carolyn and Andrew's welcoming front door...It's hard to imagine their beautiful home being almost a century old!

A wicker Victorian-style chair offers an invitation to enjoy the front porch of Carolyn and Andrew's home.

A view to the left of Carolyn's front doorstep...

And, a view to the right... 🙂

A view of the side porch that Carolyn loves to decorate in fall and at Christmastime...In summer, the path to the porch is lined with hosta and loads of blooming hydrangea...Can you see the small evergreen tree next to the bird 'condominium'? A sweet nest of baby robins are tucked well inside the tree's branches very near the kitchen window. Carolyn can look out and see them at most anytime! The baby birdies are absolutely precious! I wonder if they've flown the nest by now...

Views from Carolyn’s front step – these pictures speak a thousand words:

At this point, my head is already on a swivel and I haven’t even knocked on Carolyn’s door yet!!! Okay, okay, I’m knocking now. I know you, too, must be eager to see around every bend…And, here comes Carolyn to greet us!!! 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this part of the tour!  There’s more to come…We’ll meet here again very soon and take up where we left off! I can hardly wait, can you?! 🙂

Wishing you another beautiful day, 🙂
Linda

Categories: INSPIRATIONS, JARDINS
  1. 2011/08/22 at 8:58 pm

    True Beauty!!! I will be sure to put this on ‘my place to visit’ list. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Roxanne

  2. Alana Barnes
    2011/08/23 at 8:14 am

    This is so nice…

  3. Joanne
    2011/08/23 at 9:29 am

    Oh, Linda…How gorgeous! I love the PEI experience…Your pictures are absolutely amazing. I’m so glad you had the opportunity to spend time with Carolyn…must have been a spectacular adventure, indeed!

  4. Tammy Fry
    2011/08/25 at 5:31 pm

    Simply Gorgeous Garden! Gorgeous, indeed! So happy that you got to enjoy that!!!

  5. Tammy Fry
    2011/08/25 at 5:35 pm

    Your pictures bring me great joy! Sigh…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

