Home > JARDINS > Garden Day

Garden Day

Just living is not enough. One must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.  Hans Christian Andersen

A distance view of the deck off the garden shed...

Salutations, Everyone!

At long last, we finally had our first day of warmth and sunshine in well over two, maybe it has been even three, weeks – I’ve lost count! We are certainly glad to have it today and we are over the ‘moon’. For once, there is no tea brewing, just ice-cold lemonade – I hope you find it refreshing.

This is the first time in many weeks that we have spent time in the garden and it’s been suffering so with the terribly wet weather we’ve been having and little or no sunshine combined with cooler temperatures…There is much to be done and the task is somewhat daunting but my hubby and I devoted our day to the garden.  Another few days like this one, and with the help of some garden faeries, and it won’t be long before it is restored to its former glory. We are praying for a healthy boost of sunshine for the rest of the season, albeit it will be fleeting from here on…

Let's have a closer look, shall we?

To be surrounded by the beauty of nature is a powerfully healing thing. Gardening is good for one’s health, both physically and spiritually – we can all certainly appreciate that flowers are just plain good for the soul.    I took some photos of the garden earlier in the afternoon to help with that a little, and because I know how you all like to see garden pics.  You can click on the photos to enlarge.

Mr. Rooster was originally made of many colours and, quite frankly, a little tacky. He was getting quite chippy in an unattractive way so hubs spray-painted him black to echo the wrought iron garden furniture...

I rather like his new look! A little of the old 'coat of many colours' peeps through the new paint coat (it's tough for the paint to find its way into all those teeny crevices), but I think it helps to defines his feathery detail. This humble supermarket crower now looks rather 'chic', don't you think?! And, I mean that in the best possible way 🙂

The sun was so bright today, it was hard to get a good pic but the fisher girl did not seem to mind its brilliance one bit!

I love how the flower box looks on the garden shed door this year...

Peonies seduce me always. These voluptuous ladies are 'Sarah Bernhardt' but I have other varieties yet to bloom as they were grown from bulbs, transplanted in the garden and are not as mature as these ladies.

Rosebuds are beginning to appear. I can already see the difference in the rose trees since this morning. It's amazing how just a little dose of sunshine can make them happy - and me, too!

White roses always speak to me of elegance...

Peonies are the fattest - I mean fairest - in the garden. They appear to be a little drunk with the sun today and so they need a helping hand from an obelisk to keep them from falling over...

The sun was so brilliant today, it was hard to get a good photo! Did I already mention that?! I am not complaining, mind you. 🙂

The plant foliage is doing well but few blooms about yet...Sigh!

The poppies have almost all but disappeared. As you can probably tell, our brief growing season is many weeks behind...

Staking peonies is a must if you are to truly appreciate their blooms. I like to use iron obelisks and combine them with clematis.

The charm and beauty of the peony always seem to delight! If the rose is the queen of the garden, then the peony is her princess in waiting!

I love all roses but I think the dainty 'Fairy' is my most favourite. She usually puts on a good show but we'll patiently wait and see if the wet weather has daunted her spirits at all. I gave her a little 'food' to help her along this season - something I've never done before. I think she, like me, needed a little boost to help her to flourish!

Don't you just love how blue-flowering perennials make the pinks pop?! 🙂

When peonies first start to open, they resemble fat cabbage roses. I wish they were both as easy to grow in my garden!

The reliable non-stop begonia...

More peonies...

Pink roses are forever my favourite!

White blossoms on plumes of showy snowmound spirea. These shrubs are almost as huge this 'summer' as the snowbanks were last winter!

I have a feeling the roses are going to be rare this year. I hope not as they add such romance to the garden. It just wouldn't be the same without them...

A hydrangea begins its athletic climb to the top of the arbour...

I will be the gladdest thing
Under the sun!
I will touch a hundred flowers
And not pick one.
~Edna St. Vincent Millay, “Afternoon on a Hill”

Well, I hope you enjoyed the brief garden tour and that you’ll return another day to see what’s blooming.  Thanks for stopping by.  Wishing you a beautiful day!

Linda

Categories: JARDINS
  1. Tammy Fry
    2011/07/24 at 8:59 pm

    The garden looks lovely, Linda and I love the rooster’s new look! He looks so regal sitting there keeping guard over the beautiful blooms.

    Many Hugs and Loves,
    Tammy

  2. 2011/07/27 at 12:34 pm

    Hi Linda,

    I am so happy for you to have some beautiful sunshine in your lovely garden!Your peonies are so pretty along with your roses! It is amazing what a day or two of warm sunny weather does for the garden-isn’t it?

    I see you have your Summer book on display – it is one of the most beautiful books I have seen.

    Hope you get many more days of sunshine!

    Carolyn

  3. 2011/08/15 at 9:30 pm

    Hi Linda,
    Thank you for stopping by. It was a pleasure to hear from you. I’m glad you enjoyed your trip to the Island and are looking forward to another.
    I lost my best friend to breast cancer so my heart goes out to you. I pray you will be well and able to enjoy your life. Do take care.
    I love your blog and would like to sign up to follow but I don’t see any place to do that. So I have put you in my Favorites for the time being. Hope you have a delightful week.

    Blessings,
    Sandi

    • 2011/08/15 at 9:52 pm

      Hi, Sandi!
      Thanks for your nice words! You can subscribe in the sidebar of the blog under “Get More Beautiful Ideas”.
      Linda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

