Home > CHRISTMAS, FAVOURITE THINGS, PHOTOS > The First Snow of A New Year!

The First Snow of A New Year!

Happy 2013, Dear Friends!

The first snow of the New Year fell last night.  I always love the look of fresh snowflakes as they float through the clear air down to the ground and all around, and catch on every spray and limb and twig. Reminds me of the perfect, sparkly snow on Christmas cards… I wanted to fully appreciate the brand new snow of a brand new year, and headed to our patio with camera in hand to try and capture the moment.  I didn’t use a fancy shmancy camera with all the fandangles and flashes. And, inspite of not having a proper night flash, I do like how they turned out…Kind of magical. Spiritual. The stuff for snow angels…

P1050598

I love when the garden furniture is clothed in snow, how its lines are made more distinct. Intricate. I especially love seeing the snow pattern on the seat of  the iron bench, and that cast beneath it compliments of the porch light.  Hmmm…makes me hungry for waffles. SMILE.

P1050600

At first, I was being careful to tread carefully so as not to disturb the gentle carpet of soft white beneath my feet. But, alas, someone came behind who was more heavy-footed than me and seemingly turned on the vacuum! Lol

P1050601

P1050602

Look closely and you’ll see a fresh pineapple nestled within the flower box above…

P1050605

‘Garden child’ looks so pretty on her ‘green’ cushion.  A sweet little fairy sits in the palms of her hands.  I wonder what they are  whispering to one another…Can children really understand the language of faeries?  You can, too, if you only believe…

P1050606

P1050623

The silhouette of the rusty iron angel against the night sky is magical…

P1050629

P1050613

“Kindness is like snow.  It beautifies everything it covers.” Anonymous

P1050626

Angel is kneeling inside a wreath of spruce, boxwood and holly beneath a flower box piled with cedar, magnolia and pine cones…

P1050605

I’m am always excited that you come by to visit and just want to let you know how much I appreciate your beautiful comments, both on the blog and in emails, and for letting me share with you my tiny corner of the world this past year. I hope this fresh new year is a special one for you and that all your dreams come true…

Warmly yours,

Linda

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am partying at Vintage InspirationMop It Up Monday, Make the Scene MondayFeathered Nest FridayShow and Tell Friday, Fabulously Creative Friday, Saturday Show Off, Sundae Scoop and Overflowing with Creativity.

  1. 2013/01/02 at 11:21 pm

    Loved the new snow photos. Your garden child and winged angel are beautiful, too. Susan

  2. Pondside
    2013/01/02 at 11:40 pm

    Beautiful, new snow. We’ll probably get one snowfall this winter, and I look forward to it. Our world takes on a magical aspect – like yours.

  3. 2013/01/03 at 4:14 am

    I love the way that these pictures came out! They look ethereal or something! Really beautiful! Such pretty statues, too! Happy New Year! Hugs, Leena

  4. 2013/01/03 at 10:13 am

    Hi Linda,
    That is such a cosy winter scene! I have the same angel but I spray painted mine white but now I am loving the brown -I may have to strip it!!!
    It is cold and wintry here the last few days but it is January after all.
    Sounds like you and Midge had a wonderful day yesterday, too.

    Take care,
    Carolyn

  5. Joanne
    2013/01/03 at 9:45 pm

    Hi Linda,
    I am reading your blog on the snow covered patio while I am sitting in 40 degree Celsius in Victoria, Australia. Your photos are beautiful and makes me envious as I love the winter. We do not get snow where I live, so I appreciate looking at your photos.
    Regards, Jo

  6. 2013/01/04 at 7:29 am

    I like how you capture detail in your mind’s eye and get us to see it, too! We’re always in too much of a hurry to see, or as the old saying goes “take time to smell the roses”. I think I need to get you to help me create a blog about the creation of our new greenhouse and make it a magical thing, as you do everything.

  7. 2013/01/05 at 1:24 pm

    Really Romantic and Beautiful…..
    and do not miss……

    S
    A
    T
    U
    R
    D
    A
    Y

    S
    H
    O
    W

    O
    F
    F

    It is FUN :)
    WELCOME
    Håkan (The Roseman)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

